Quick Jots - 82

After listening to a few podcasts, I've been turned onto the idea of taking notes during conversations - aka "quick jots." (that's a name I've just invented because it sounds fun and fits the idea.) I wouldn't be taking notes during, well, normal conversations, since that would be impractical and wouldn't have a lot of use; rather, I'd be jotting things down during more 'intellectual' conversations.

Maybe I could imagine it as a sort of meeting notes-type thing, though it would definitely be a lot more fun than usual meeting notes. Ideas that I don't want to forget, interesting insights that come up, places that conversations could go next - all of this would be useful to have, and I think it could make things more fun. Also, I'd have concrete 'results' from conversations that I could look back on to realize how much value I've actually gotten out of it.

There are three problems/questions that come up:

  1. How do I know what is an 'intellectual' conversation?
    Uh, you just know I guess

  2. How will I prevent this from becoming a chore?
    Keep it always optional?

  3. How will I prevent this from causing normal conversations to feel devalued?
    ... I don't know. I'm adding value to certain ones, so I can anticipate it seeming as though other conversations (in which I don't take notes) would have less value, despite the fact that their value hasn't changed.

This can be thought on for the future. I do notice I have two main types of conversations, those that are social and surface-level and the brain ones. I think that realizing that the social conversations give me value in a different way is the way to treat this; I do not hang out with people purely for gaining knowledge. I enjoy people's company, I enjoy laughing with them, I enjoy getting away from projects and academics at times. I don't need to take notes on being happy. :)

-branches


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from branches
All posts