Efficiency or Enjoyment? - 84

I can't decide the purpose of books in my world. Do I read for learning only? Do I read for enjoyment? These questions will dictate the way that I treat reading. Taking notes slows me down significantly; if I'm reading for efficiency, that's bad and I need to improve my system, but if I'm reading for learning and enjoyment, it doesn't really matter that I go slowly.

The main problem with trying to maximise for enjoyment and learning is that I run out of 'book inertia' - I get tired of reading the same book. This may be a product of my upbringing in an instant-gratification culture but honestly I just want to finish the book sometimes, you know?

I think I just need to try and optimize for both efficiency and enjoyment, wherever possible. Learning how to take notes on books more effectively will make me both happier and more effective. The only question is "how?".

-branches


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from branches
All posts