16 JAN - Introducton, Social Media, Mass Media, and Social Mathematics

Introduction:

The most important dire feature of this blog is that there is an account of my thoughts, and somewhere written something that one time I thought had down the line be a potential benefit to the humans. As in these times of brutal, terror producing capitalism, climate destabilization, and where people are realizing their humanity, and trying to go against the ideas they once thought was important to them, it is important to read, talk about topics that were once taboo, and do something to againist the grain that we are usually on. I switch up between the common white english spoken and aave in this blog.

Each blog post will feature sections of each topic where I write about any questions I have, or anything that I want to say. Sometimes they will correlate, sometimes they will be scattered like the scattergun be from TF2.

You will see a glimpse into my thinking, and my process of trying to understand my place in this world as a young african american male living in the united states. As I always try to be closer and understand people. As Ghassan Abu Sittah said in an interview - (6:40) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AtTG4dcKanM. As well I always try to develop my cultural and antalytical lens as said in the interview too (5:15).

I tried otha ways to deal with my curiosity and thinking and how to express that ina way. Besides writing research articles that were based on the research I would conduct; I would need something that would lead to that or something that would be on the side as I love to babble about anything I am curious about.

Now you may think when blabbing that I only stick to one subject...nah. These days I see everything overlaps together to form what it forms. For example, when trying to figure out why an african american male is less likely to graduate college than an african american woman, or how to figure out how and why hamas built rockets, and how that caused the occupiers of Palestine to go into a deep panic that resulted in a reponse more brutal than in recent memory of the occupation.

Everything is connected, and everything is layered. Sometimes its simple as cheese, sometimes its required a 10 per committee that leads into a government agency to figure out what the hell is going on.

Another inspiration for this thinking is the book - Best Science Writing Online of 2012. Most likely one of my favorite books of all time so far near Dr. Davis's: Are Prisons Obsolete. It opened my eyes that Science wasn't just this one-dimensional tool that we learned in school, but a way to learn more about the world we live in that can be relatable, accessible, and mergeable.

That is more or less my motivation.

Social Media and who the hell are these people:

There are those accounts on social media that for some reason have a celebrity like following but post stuff that have been reposted before - and/or post stuff that maybe fake deep; As well as other content. This can apply to numerous accounts on social media but I am going to focus on accounts like @Historicvids on twitter. I always see them go viral for the stuff that I see from time to time that have been posted on youtube for years or already been posted over and over. Watch them got a good number of videos where they post it every month because they know it will always get attraction and likes.

I always wonder who is behind those accounts, their motivation for posting whether it is for likes or something else. They also have a great power in their hands because they can post virtually anything and get attention on it - whether it is news about an event happening, or their personal opinion on a matter. I am always skeptical about those accounts: How they grew their presence, why they go viral, who is behind those accounts, etc....

Sometimes it is people that genuinely want to share that content, and sometimes they have other motivation.

Mass Media and how it affects everything:

MANNNN DO I HATE DA NEWS

I am going to keep this short because I could have an entire post dedicated to this topic. Alot of people's perception, or a piece of it, of how an area is, how a certain group acts, and/or what is going on comes from a component of mass media - social media, news media, other forms that are alike. Mass media plays a dangerous over-hanging role in our society that affected us too much about how things function, and in addition affected how we think. I don't like it, it is not a healthy relationship, and it is just an expression of the establishment from the end of the government and corporations to control people in a passive way - (https://www.declassifieduk.org/about-us/ - they described how the UK mass media be operating and that can apply to the U.S and a good amount of "white" countries too) from corporations who aims to maximize greater and greater profits, rather than share great stories and perspectives. If you control the truth, you control the minds, and you control the thoughts (someone prolly said this).

Social Mathematics:

MATH MATH

As Mathematics is used to explain the hard to explain in the world, I wonder if it can be applied to sociology and other instances of conversations and "life" - with the exception of demography and statistics. I don't know if I can produce that real math from scratch but I will try! I don't know the amount of research, work, and people there are on the topic but I would love to get in on it.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from peyton's thoughts
All posts