First thoughts on the global context 2022

First thoughts on the global context 2022

What is the nature and purpose of creative expression?

Creative expression can mean many different things to many different people. But what I think it is, is the creative person can be themselves, do what they love, express anything they want to and have the courage to do it in such a messed up world. The person might like to write, draw, act, dance, play music, etc.

But for me, it would cooking. I know it does not sound very creative, but hear me out. As a child, I wasn’t a family person, meaning I didn’t really spend time with my parents. But, the one that actually caught my attention was my mom’s cooking. She really talented when it comes to this, and as her daughter I was expected to cook as well. Not as great, obviously. My mom did not force me to learn how to cook, but one day I decided I wanted to become a master chef. I was 8.

My mom was naturally very excited to teach me how cook, but what I think she was even more excited about was spending time with me. Either way, she has taught me a-lot. The first couple meals she taught me how to cook were Indian meals because she wanted me to be more culturally boned with my home since we lived so far away. I had a blast learning how to cook and then to bake. Shockingly, I also enjoyed spending time with my mom. Now, we are closer than ever. Now, with every meal I cook, either be it Italian, Chinese, Spanish, Indian or whatever I desire to cook, I love serving it my way. I don't like getting my meal just on a plate. I will make sure it looks really pleasing to eat and tastes delicious, with my own touch obviously.

Being creative really depends on a person, and their ability to do so. So, what I would recommend is don’t judge a book by a cover, first get to know them because they might be really creative in their own special way.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Dia
All posts