Episode 1: 2000 and Whatever

Wednesday, 1 Nov 2023


Bonjour. Today, I want to talk about Eurovision. I don't know if any of you know this song from 2000 and Whatever from... I honestly forgot who performed it. Oh my God, Let me check it first. Electric Fields! They performed it in Australia's national selection for Eurovision 2019. I've listened to all the songs, and this one stood out because it was different compared to the others. We all knew that staging this song would be difficult because it has challenging elements to perform live, especially at a time when you cannot use playback. Everything needs to be perfect, especially the vocals.

I watched the performance, and I have to agree that Kate Miller-Heidke deserved to win that national selection because she had the whole package compared to Electric Fields. For the latter, the live performance was good, but not great. The song was spectacular, by the way. If we compare it to the song 2000 and Whatever and Kate Miller-Heidke's "Zero Gravity," I actually prefer the former. In fact, that song was my most played song on Spotify in 2019, by the way. And then, recently, I came across their performance during New Year's Eve 2023. It was a few months ago they performed it live, and it was great. Everything was pretty close to the studio version. I was quite impressed when I watched the performance.

The one thing that they were missing compared to the latest performance and the performance they did during the national selection was background singers. That's it—just background singers. I don't know whether they used playback during the New Year's performance, but I think adding some background singers could have made a significant difference, honestly.

Can you imagine if they had won Eurovision for Australia in 2019? Do you think "Arcade" would still be my #1? Well, I think "Arcade" is just that good. It is currently the most streamed song in Eurovision history. Probably, I don't know for sure. Maybe "Waterloo" is #1, but I'm not sure. Anyway, that's it. I just wanted to talk about that. Maybe I'll talk more about Eurovision someday in the future. So that's it. Bye.

Full video:


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Eurovision
All posts