Episode 4: Mon Amour

Wednesday, 15 Nov 2023


Bonjour, tout le monde. Today, I will listen to a song. To be honest, I did not expect this at all. France is the first country to release its song for the Eurovision Song Contest. It's mid-November, by the way. Usually, we get a song towards the end of December, probably between Ukraine or Albania. Most likely, it's Albania, but now we have a new song from France in mid-November. So, that's quite surprising.

The other thing I want to talk about is the fact that the artist they sent to represent France next year in Eurovision is Slimane. He is an artist, a singer that I have been listening to since 2016, ever since Amir represented France in 2016. I started to listen to a lot of French songs, and Slimane is one of the most listened-to artists on Spotify for me.

He's easily my most listened-to French artist ever on Spotify. Also, he ranked second with his song 'J'en suis là' in 2017, just behind another French song 'La chute est lente' by Alma, who represented France in 2017. It's kind of like seeing a big-name artist like Slimane representing France. What's more shocking is they released the song a few hours after the artist announcement. So right now, I'm going to listen to the song.

So, the title of the song is 'Mon amour.' There's a live performance, interesting. Oh yeah, we all know he can sing because I've listened to a lot of his songs. I streamed him over 2300 times with a total of almost 7500 minutes, which translates to 123 hours. That's a lot. I listened to 43 of his songs. That's quite spectacular. Okay, I'm gonna listen to the song now.

It's a very nice song. Whether it will win Eurovision, I don't think so. Usually, when you listen to a song and you know immediately, okay, this is going to win, I don't get that vibe from him from this song, but it's a really respectable song. Yeah. I actually like this song because recently his new songs don't interest me as much just because they're deviating away from his early works, but this one pretty much reminds me of some of his early works and also blends with his current style. Ohh, overall, yeah, I'm happy. This one is quite good for France because even last year was good, but I'm not sure how this holds up on the Eurovision stage, but we'll see because he's a big-name artist, so he probably has a lot of resources behind him to create a magical performance on the Eurovision stage. Yeah. I'm happy with this song. Bye-bye.

Full video:


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Eurovision
All posts