Projek Masjid 7 (Retro): Masjid Ubudiah

Wednesday, 19 July 2023


Image 1
Image 2

I didn't engage in any Projek Masjid activities last week. However, one idea that crossed my mind was to do it retroactively – discussing the mosques I have visited in the past. This could be a way for me to keep track of every single mosque I have prayed at and visited. Perhaps during weeks when I don't visit any new mosques, I can create retroactive posts about the ones I have already visited.

I'm not sure when I should start, but I think I can begin now. The first mosque that comes to mind is probably Masjid Ubudiah, located in the Royal City of Perak, or is it the royal town? I'm not sure, but it's in Kuala Kangsar. I've wanted to visit this mosque ever since I lived in Kuala Kangsar about 10 years ago. Although I've passed by the mosque multiple times, I've never actually stopped by and visited it.

Considering it's a royal mosque, I was expecting it to be large. However, when I visited it for the first time, it was surprisingly small – not as small as Putra Mosque, but smaller than I expected. Masjid Ubudiah is nice and beautiful, but I expected it to be larger, perhaps due to my bias from visiting many royal mosques in Brunei that are extravagant and quite large.

The other mosque that comes to mind is Masjid Kristal. It looks bigger from the outside, but it's much smaller than I anticipated.

As for Masjid Ubudiah, I don't know why I haven't visited it before. I lived in Kuala Kangsar for two years and have visited the town several times since, but for some reason, I never visited the mosque. When I accompanied my dear friend Asyraf to a job interview nearby, he asked me, 'Where do you want to go after this (his interview)?' I suggested, 'Why don't we visit that mosque?' It was somewhat subconscious, as I hadn't planned to visit the mosque before that moment. We went to visit, and finally, after so long, I managed to visit. I appreciate Asyraf for that. Thank you.

Overall, it's a very nice place. I don't know how busy the mosque is during peak hours, but when we visited, there was a blood drive and maybe a mobile clinic – some events were happening. This is what mosques should be like – a center for the community.

Aside from that, I'll post some videos and pictures on my blog post. I'll probably focus on that and post a short video on Instagram. You'll have to watch the whole thing on my blog post. Thank you so much for listening. It's a long video, and yeah, have a nice day. Bye-bye.

Full video:


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Hafiz
All posts