Readwise Highlight 4: When Panic Attacks (The Double Standard)

Saturday, 18 Nov 2023


Here's another wise highlight that might interest you. It's from the book "When Panic Attacks" by David D. Burns. I haven't finished reading the book yet; I think I'm about 20% through. This book was recommended by one of my conversation partners, a pharmacist in Algeria, whom I'll probably talk about in the conversation partner series. He suggested this book when I mentioned having a panic attack a few months ago, and I can see how it can be beneficial to me.

The quote I want to share with you is about the double standard. Let me read the quote now:

Image 1

Personally, I can relate to this quote because when people come to me with their problems, I am compassionate and offer useful advice. However, when I face the same problem, I tend to put myself down, blaming myself. It's a double standard within ourselves, and this can lead to cascading issues. As a starting point to solving problems and making positive changes, perhaps we should eliminate this double standard and approach our challenges in a more positive manner. I hope this insight is helpful.

Full video:


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Hafiz
All posts