#100Days, Day 26

Dammit, it happened again. I missed another day of posting. I knew I was putting off writing for "later" as I was involved in work and doing some research for my own intentions.

Next thing I know, my wife and I are heading to bed to rest up for a very busy Tuesday.

Someone who I admire very much suggested I write first thing in the morning, so that I'm not scrambling to get my thoughts down before bed. That is really, really good advice. Advice I should take, but yesterday I didn't.

So, I'm writing earlier in the day, as I'm thinking about it, instead of putting it off until "later". Another benefit to writing earlier is that I have all day to edit and polish my post. Or in my case, fix all the misspellings I never catch when I'm in a hurry to publish my post.

Which brings me to my next realization. On Sunday I'd procrastinated yet again in getting my post done earlier in the day. Then, at night, while in bed, I wrote like maybe two lines to say I wasn't going to be able to post much for Sunday, but that I'd get a more meaningful post out on Monday.

So, it turns out, though, that I posted more on Sunday (two sentences) than I did on Monday (no sentences). On one hand, I posted absolute crap on Sunday just to keep a commitment of doing this challenge "every day".

Then, last night, as I was getting ready for bed, I did think for a moment that I could do another quickie post, just to keep things moving. But I consciously said no to that because posting nothing was better than posting garbage.

Thus came along the question of quantity vs. quality. I'm still going to post for 100 days. And, as I've come to realize, it may not be 100 days in a row. But, instead, it needs to be 100 days of good posts. Posts with something to say or share or opine. Anything less is a waste of my time, and especially yours.

Posting "something" instead of a thought out post is akin to doing the "bare minimum" to get by, and I'm not about that. Well, at work I now am, but that was brought about by something else entirely. However, my normal state of being is not that of doing the bare minimum. And so my writing should not reflect that, either.

I'm going to finish the #100Day writing challenge. But, for me to do this properly for the way I want this challenge to help me grow and better reflect who I truly am, it may not be 100 in a row. And, frankly, that ship has sailed already. There's no way I'll make the 100 days in a row as I've already missed two days of posts.

Three, if you count the bogus posting on Sunday. So, to make up for that, I'm going to make 101 posts, because Sunday's really doesn't count in my book.

Again, I suppose this all in how one sees things. Is it better to keep pushing for 100 days straight, no matter what, even if the quality is sub-par? Or, would it be better to submit 100 posts of quality, even if not all in a row?

Methinks there could be arguments for and against either approach. I'd like to hear your take on this. More like a philosophical take rather than a "what should I do?" kind of take.

In any case, I feel better having posted something with a little meat and some depth. Instead of a mere placeholder that's empty and wastes a day that could otherwise be a much better post. Onward and upward.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Jay's Journal
All posts