Lesson 21 (Beginner 1B L5): Revision

Today was a revision lesson. We did not use the textbook. There was a new 4-page handout, where the vocab for the 5 chapters was on the first page, the grammar on the second, and the last 2 pages are for this week's homework.

Again, the test is reading, writing, pronunciation and listening. I guess pronunciation is better than oral, or maybe it will be both. I don't know. But there will be dates involved, we will have to read dates out. The writing component sounds like it's an essay, so not a written test where you are filling in blanks or answering questions but actually producing something. The teacher said it is similar to the other writing assignments we have done (like the journal last week).

We used paper "flashcards" (they are really slips of paper, printed on both sides, with the English on one and Korean on the other), starting at chapter 1 until chapter 5. Words, then sentences. Though maybe for chapter 3 or 4 there was no sentence cards as I distinctly recall skipping one set of sentences and doing 2 word sets in a row.

We did this in pairs/group of three. (There are 5 students in our class.) We would do the Korean side first, and translate it to English, then do the more difficult recall in the opposite direction, which is given the English, translate into Korean.

Most of these are the same words that are in the Quizlet sets that the school gave us, though I think there were a few others that I've not seen before, especially for the sentences. Hopefully it's not because I suspended them and forgot to unsuspend them in Anki afterward. (I'd import the cards as soon as they are released, which is when we start a chapter. But I would suspend the sentences until I'd learnt the grammar in class. Anki is good for remembering things, but it's bad for learning things for the first time. This is an idea I want to explore... perhaps in another post.)

There were some things that I (re-)learnt that are worth mentioning.

  1. 이/가 is the particle for -있어요(-없어요) sentences.
  2. X 주세요 (Give me X) - we learnt it without the particle in chapter 2 (the reason, I suspect, is because this is usually spoken and not written). But the particle, if you add one, is the object particle 를/을, so for example 주스를 주세요. But 주스 주세요 is also valid. (The object particle was taught in chapter 3)
  3. The word for cat is 고양이.
  4. -아니에요 is how you negate a 이에요/여요 sentence. This was never covered before in class; only the negation for 하십시오체. I had searched it up on my own before. But we had some example sentences that had the negation in the casual/informal polite language (해요체).

And this is completely random but I realised I've been spelling the past tense of "learn" as "learned" instead of "learnt", which is inconsistent with how I've been spelling other words (British spelling). So from now on - learnt. I've also gone back to fix all the past posts. Which I had to find from the web because there was no in-post search feature in Standard Notes, and I forgot that I could just use the search and it would have surfaced out all the posts... never mind.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from journey
All posts