Lesson 57 (Beginner 4A Lesson 1): I wish I had written this earlier

This is one week overdue. Unfortunately. I think quite a fair bit of my spare time has been eaten by Advent of Code. This year it seems my colleagues are more on the ball about it and I'm compelled to keep up, though I've already fallen behind somewhat. At any rate, I do not have any Korean class this coming week (after Christmas). I think last year I was also having some kind of backlog of posts around this time of year. It's strange because I don't think I'm particularly busy... but somehow time just slips away.

In this lesson, we started with the song 희망사항 (Wish List). There's quite a bit of new vocabulary related to the song, which I've put in the vocab table at the end.

Second week that the youngest girl didn't attend, and the teacher said she is going to the Wednesday class. I am not sure if she will continue attending the Saturday class, because she did attend this past lesson (Lesson 58). However, it might have been one-off because of the gift exchange too.

Because we had an odd number of students, for the last activity which was based on the textbook p.162 I was paired with the teacher. Man, that didn't end well. I told myself I should write out and script it the way I want it to go but I've not gotten around to it, and now this week I have the writing assignment as homework... but then again it's school break next week because of Christmas so maybe I should squeeze out the time to do it.

Grammar

3. V-고 싶다

This is used when the speaker expresses a hope or desire, or when the speaker asks about the listener's hope or desire.

Essentially, only used in the first and second person. Third person will use the form in the next grammar point.

The conjugation is very straightforward; you simply add the verb stem to 고 싶다.

Examples:

  1. 피곤해서 자고 싶어요. (I am tired so I want to sleep.)
  2. 이 영화를 보고 싶어요? (Do you want to watch this movie?)
  3. 이 노래를 듣고 싶어요. (I want to listen to this song.)

One important thing to note is that this expression -고 싶다 is considered an adjective, not a verb, so when you use the present tense noun modifier, you use the one for adjectives, not verbs.

So, you would say 먹고 싶은 음식 (the food I want to eat), using 은 and not 는.

4. V-고 싶어 하다

This is used to express a third person's hope or desire.

In terms of meaning, it's exactly the same as point 3 above, just that you would use this when discussing a third person.

Examples:

  1. 엔디 씨는 피곤해서 자고 싶어 해요. (Andy is tired so he wants to sleep.)
  2. 나나 씨는 이 영화를 보고 싶어 합니다. (Nana wants to watch this movie. [formal])
  3. 친구가 이 노래를 듣고 싶어 해요. (My friend wants to listen to this song.)

Unlike -고 싶다, -고 싶어 하다 is a verb. With the present tense noun modifier, you use the verb version.

As we saw earlier:

  • (제가) 먹고 싶은 음식 (the food I want to eat)

But:

  • 친구가 먹고 싶어 하는 음식 (the food my friend wants to eat)

Vocabulary

Korean English Notes
나이트클럽 nightclub; disco
케이팝
해변 beach
river
막국수 buckwheat noodle
희망사항 wish list The words following this are from the song.
어울리다 to suit, to fit nicely, to match e.g. clothes, as in 청바지가 잘 어울리는 여자. Another meaning is "to hang out, to get along (with other people)"
나오다 to come out; to become apparent
바르다 (…에 …을) to apply, spread, rub, put on
흐르다 to flow
윤기 gloss, shine 윤기가 흐르는 머리 = hair with a glossy shine (lustrous hair)
고요하다 to be still, tranquil
눈빛 the expression in one's eyes; the glitter in one's eyes
시력 sight; vision Sino-Korean word from 视力 (shìlì).
맞추다 to set, to adjust; to adapt
멋을 내다 to dress up
목젖 uvula
gum
소리 sound, noise, volume
울적하다 to be gloomy; to be moody, melancholy, depressed
속이 상하다 to feel bad; to be upset, distressed, depressed
위로 comfort, consolation
바라보다 to stare at
거창하다 to be grandoise

Afterword

After writing this... I have no idea why I put it off because there really wasn't much to do. During the class there was more speaking practice, so there's nothing additional to write. (It also kind of explains the title...)

There's more for this past week's lesson, since we finished up Chapter 15 and started Chapter 16.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from journey
All posts