Julie Reynders - Creative writing based on a childhood memory

The warm, earthy, comforting smell of my wood stairs surrounded my environment. I was glancing around my hallway, quickly analysing my surroundings. I looked at my ivory white radiator with a grin on my face. I then spotted a red permanent marker in the corner of my eye. The grin grew. I immediately knew what I wanted to do, rather, needed to do. I made sure neither of my parents would be here to catch me in the act. I moved my tiny body across the room, and grabbed the marker. An evil little giggle left my body as I unscrewed the cap. I felt as though I was committing a crime. I took the marker, lifted it up into the air and drew on the radiator. I gazed at my masterpiece. Suddenly, I heard the floorboards creak. Without hesitation I guraded my art piece with my body and took a deep breath. Ready to lie. My dad appeared round the corner. He noticed me sneakily standing there and decided to investigate.

“Hi Julie! Everything okay?” He said lovingly
“Yep.” I answered. He towered over me so my guarding didn’t do much to hide what I had done. He looked behind me and then right back at me.
“Julie, what did you do?” my dad said in a joking tone. I was caught. My master plan didn’t work. I was absolutely devastated.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from julie
All posts