Julie Reynders - Debate Reflection

For our english class, we had to prepare debates.

I learnt a lot, but I think the thing that stuck with me the most was the use of rhethorics such as the rule of three and rhetoric questions. I think that most of the people speaking in the prepared part used these techniques often, and successfully. The information and/or statment stuck with the audience.

What surprised me the most is that I wasn't as nervous as I though I was going to be. When starting the debate, I was riddled with nerves, although the more I spoke, the more comfortable I got. At one point I was reciting my points, not reading them off. I was most surprised by myself during the improvisation part. I always had a point come to mind, even if this point wasn't prepared. I am quite proud of myself.

When listening to the debates, I think what Rushil did well was staying calm when something might have not gone 100% to plan. During the unprepared part of the debate, Rushil was rebuddling something somone on the opposing side had said. He knew what he wanted to say but didn't know how to properly formulate. Instead of freaking out, he stayed calm and thought about it. In the final, he made a really good point which I think was due to his calmness.

All together, I think the debates were super successful and much fun to do.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from julie
All posts