Julie Reynders - Proposal for speech youth conference

Dear people on the board

I would like to give a speech at your youth conference. I would like to do this speech concerning the topic of: "The role of art in developing empathy for people, and groups who live lives that are different to your own." I will be for this statement. I want to give this speech to the youth convention because it is important that young people learn about empathy early on, so they can live life with a positive attitude, and treating everyone fairly.

My first piece of art I will use to strengthen the motion is the movie, The Schindlers list by Steven Spielberg. This movie is an incredibly important tool for teaching about empathy. We learn excruciating details about The Holocaust that some might not have known. The perspective is omniscient so we get all the facts. I think this would be a great art to talk about as when I watched The Schindlers list, it evoked a strong empathy in me that was extremely powerful.

The second piece of art I would like to discuss is the book The Hate You Give, written by Angie Thomas. This book would really shape the idea of empathy for many people who do not experience, or know about these issues. The theme of this book is police violence. The main characters friend is murdered by a police officer. There is a lot of talk about racial based violence, which, unfortunately is still very relevant to this day. If we are able to make these young people feel empathy, and educate them on struggles people of colour go through, it will be a great benefit to society, as we will hopefully see a decrease. Injustice has no place in our future.

The last piece of art I would like to talk about in my speech to the youth conference is the book David Copperfield, written by Charles Dickens.

To summarise, I would love to give this speech as it would benefit these peoples minds. As they are still young, they might have a more open mind. It would not only lead to people getting treated better, but also to a more equal society. Any step is major. Art can encourage people transform their thoughts and imagination to the real life meaning.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from julie
All posts