i fixed my sleep schedule, taking breaks, bedrotting

Over the last week, I consistently slept at 3 am or later, and once I even slept at 5 am. The next morning I would be bleary-eyed and have a headache, and I felt the urgent need to take 2-3 naps throughout the day. I was less productive and focused on my work if I was sleep-deprived. What's worse, once you get into the routine of sleeping late, you do less work in the day so you sleep late again that night. However, I finally fixed my schedule by sleeping at 2 am. Yesterday I slept at 2 and woke up at 9. 7 hours of sleep! There's a noticeable difference. I no longer feel like I need to take naps in order to function and I can be much more focused during the day.

I have always admired people who slept very little, but I don't think that is possible for me. My body just cannot handle low sleep. Here are some snippets from wise people:
Reminder that this attitude is unhealthy and straight up toxic (towards yourselves). Reducing sleep hours is not going to increase your productivity or set you apart from others.
Nutrition is equally important! Please avoid skipping meals - they're also a chance to take a break and socialize. If you're struggling with that (e.g., due to stress, losing track of time working, etc.), ask for help/support
Asking for help/support, taking breaks (even if you feel unproductive! taking consistent breaks will make you more productive) is a sign of strength, not weakness!!

I think one thing I have always struggled with is becoming focused or adhering to a schedule.

Two of my closest friends love to bedrot. They will scroll on Instagram Reels, YouTube shorts, TikTok. One of them is actually addicted to her screen. She almost walked into a car because she wasn't paying attention lol. She's also always messaging her friends on Discord and swiping back and forth between tabs. I think she needs constant entertainment. She's also like really really antisocial because she hasn't made much new friends and want me to accompany her.
At the end of the school year I had my fair share of bedrotting, but watching these two made me realize how bad it was because they barely get any work done. Since I'm always reminded of this, my screen time has reduced by a lot. I also installed an app that blocks distracting apps and keeps track of my screentime. I think bedrotting can waste a lot of time and you can accomplish so much if you're not doing so.

I just made it so that my phone is really boring. I don't get a lot of notifications and I don't really scroll on Reels. I used to scroll when I was taking a break from my work, but I've realized that I can take much more meaningful breaks and that Reels are kind of unproductive and uneducational.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from lemoncakes
All posts