Movie Of The Day: Hopscotch (1980)

Hopscotch (1980)
Genre: Adventure, Comedy, Spy-Fiction
Cast: Walter Matthau, Glenda Jackson, Sam Waterston, Ned Beatty, Herbert Lom

My Review:
A classic spy movie of the 80s and strangely with no big action scenes. And that's the beauty of it. It was just pure acting by Walter Matthau who gave us some memorable punch lines (He never disappointed us.) Although a typical story about a spy turning rogue, cold war tactics and CIA's incompetence (yeah!). However it is still worth-watching because...well, because it was an 80s movie and, uh, it was stars Walter Matthau and... what else you want from a movie? Strangely this movie doesn't cast Soviets as the bad guys like in other cold war movies. Maybe because it was a comedy movie.

Just sit back and read some quotes from this movie.
Movie Lines:
Yaskov:
I could make a run for it, you know.

Kendig:
Come on, Yaskov. You running, me chasing? We'd look like Laurel and Hardy.

Yaskov:
We're having our picture taken.
Kendig:
That's Follett. He's an idiot. Probably no film in the camera.

Carla:
You seem like a nice man. You remind me of my father.
Kendig:
That's always been my problem.

Kendig:
The cleaning lady will untie you in the morning.
Cutter:
I hope she's pretty...

Isobel von Schonenberg:
An American without ice in his drink is unthinable, if not unconstitutional!

Kendig:
Does he bite? (Referring to Schonenberg's dog)
Schonenberg:

Only people he didn't like.
Kendig:
Oh! I only bite people I like.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Maaz Zulfiqar
All posts