Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami

This is a strange book, I knew nothing of it before reading it and if I didn't know of Haruki's other novel were different I'd probably never pick a book of his again. The main character is an honest, righteous and thoroughly decent guy with no backbone but is for some reason friends with a complete asshole. Treats his girlfriend awfully, belittles her and openly sleeps with other women and excuses this by saying I've never lied to her. Midori is some fantasy woman, who's an awesome cook, sexy, sluty, drinks and is fantastic at pool. Having said that she and the asshole friend are the only characters that have any energy. The rest are middle of the road.

The last 40 or so pages didn't do anything for me, the ending was flat and didn't resolve anything but given the rest of the book thats fitting.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from mindracer
All posts