Banana Weekly #2

Banana Weekly, the 2nd issue

And again, I'm picking out some of the most important posts for me from the past week and reflecting on them.
It's a best of with a twist. 🤩


Posts ✏️

Nur damit ich das richtig verstehe: Gründonnerstag sind Supermärkte zu, damit am Mittwoch zuvor und am Samstag noch mehr Leute darin kuscheln, ja? Supi.

Link

Translated: Just so I'm clear, supermarkets are closed on Maundy Thursday so that more people can snuggle inside on the Wednesday before and Saturday, yes? Great.

What a mess. First Maundy Thursday was declared a holiday, so that supermarkets would also have to close, only to revoke exactly this a few days later. But it was also a nonsensical regulation. Corona-technically, although the vaccinations are going ahead, the incidence values are rising again. The government and the citizens are overwhelmed. It is time for all of this to end.


So many new users at Micro.blog! A 💜y welcome to all of you!

Link

Micro.blog is booming with the recent integration with the tool Ulysses. As an Android user, I can't use the tool. But I am happy that this great network is growing.


*The Call of the Wild (2020) Review 🍿

*


Nicely done. Honest, heartfelt, sad.

I shed a few tears during the film. It touched me very much. It is not a feelgood movie. This one follows a faithful line, a life line if you will. That of the dog Buck. He meets many different people who walk a part of the way with him. In the end it is the wonderful Harrison Ford. Sometime before that, the at least equally wonderful Omar Sy.

It's a story of life. Invented? Yes, perhaps. Is Buck a CGI dog? Most certainly so. Did that bother me? Not in the least. It's a heartfelt adventure that I recommend without reservation.

My ★★★★ review of The Call of the Wild (2020) on @letterboxd: boxd.it/1KaXEr

Link

Finally, a film again. And at the expense of sleep, I watched it in one piece. I think it was worth it.


This is Charly, and he has a story. Would you like to know it?

Link

A slightly longer story about my past. About a teddy, about the birth of my first daughter, about long car rides, about the danger of microsleep in the car.


Sharing Techno. There's nothing else I can do.

Charles D (USA) - You 🎵

Link

I've been listening to techno for a bit longer now and keep discovering gems in this genre. This track is one of them. Gladly I share this in my weekly summary once again.


Restart: 8 km running 🏃

Link

I have been a big fan of running at least since my time in the German Armed Forces. Let's say: That's where I learned it. Before that, I was always out of breath right away. But the drill there and the unforgivable "RUN!" "motivated" me to endure even the greatest pain. The result: mental damage and the ability to run several miles without problems. I took advantage of that later. It became one of my favorite hobbies, or rather one of my favorite sports.


Photos of the week 📷

Construction site romance. 🌇

Progress.

Pride.


Exclusively at Banana Weekly ⭐

Readwise.io

Get the most out of what you read

Readwise makes it easy to revisit and learn from your ebook & article highlights.

And another one of those great new services that I don't need because I never asked for it. Still, I think it's such a great idea that I signed up for it right away. My 4 marked Kindle quotes were imported immediately. (Haha) Thanks to my Mailbrew.com trial, they are now rotated there as well.


And again a week is over. Last week, I held back from reporting on the problems of the construction site. And lo and behold, apparently one or the other missed my written words about the small and big disasters. You asked for it, I will post again one or the other, but hold back for the most part, because it just annoys me too much myself.

But aside from that, I'm happy and proud to have finished my 2nd Banana Weekly! 🍌🥳

As always, HEY users can reply directly to the newsletter and tell me what they think. Positive, negative and everything in between - everything is allowed and okay. I look forward to chatting with you guys. :)

Have a great week and enjoy the Easter weekend! 🐰

ohBananaJoe


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from ohBananaJoe
All posts