living the dream

Life as a human is pretty funny. It just starts up one day and then a couple rotations later abruptly ends. Yet we spend so much of our time and energy running around feverishly trying to get things, hold onto things and keep things away.

I'm looking around my room right now. There are some cupboards, plants, notes and artwork on the walls, a bed, table and other assorted things. I have a white noise machine running and I'm wearing two sweaters. I'm incredibly comfortable. I'm starting to feel hungry and it's fine since there's a kitchen full of food waiting for me. All of it is for me - just me. This one person has all of this. This one life is so full, so overflowing with pleasures and comforts.

And it so often doesn't feel like enough. I even have friends and a family - autonomous beings who choose to be and share with me - and it so often doesn't feel like enough. How strange is that?

When you think about it, there's really nothing to worry about. Life isn't so different from a dream. It's here now and soon it'll be gone, as if it never was. Every experience along the way is as valid as any other, whether we get the special shiny things or not doesn't make much difference. There's so much else to enjoy. We can turn a corner and continue our relentless march to the end of the dream in some other direction.

More from reflectivesun
All posts