experiment

An experiment: throughout the day, observe your physiological state when you catch yourself thinking about external things. Then note whether that changes once you become aware and begin observing yourself.

I've been noticing that whenever my attention is on thoughts of external things, my body is in varying degrees of tension. Facial muscles tight, posture curled in, heart beating faster, breathing is shallow, pace quicker, temper shorter. Now imagine this spread out over a lifetime, being the state from which all actions emerge...

The moment I notice I'm lost in thought and redirect that attention to inner observation, there's an immediate relaxation. Muscles soften, posture straightens, heartbeat slows, breathing deepens, pace regulates, temper fades. Now imagine the difference with this spread out over a lifetime, being the state from which all actions emerge.

More from reflectivesun
All posts