Car-dweller of {unknown location}

While at the Dollar Tree, I picked up a novel that looked promising, and a bit reflective of my current scenario: Spaceman of Bohemia by Jaroslav Kalfar. As one would expect, I was skeptical about buying a $1 book from a dollar store but it's really great, so far.

There was a specific piece of the story that I felt deep within my soul as I read it, and I'm beginning to fear that she might leave me, instead of vice-versa.


The spaceman, Jakub, is weeks into his journey to Venus, isolated and lonely within his ship. He is consumed, and tormented, by the thought of a dissolving marriage between his wife, Lenka, the only person in the entire universe he loves and cherishes.

The two are confined to a 1.5 hour weekly video conversation, and while Jakub desparately prepares to chat with his beloved at the scheduled time, she leaves him in the (space) dust.

Is this also my destiny?


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from rogueish
All posts