Happy Thanksgiving!

I hope you all had a great Thanksgiving. I spent time with family, ate good food, and lounged around tired all day. I know a lot of OCD sufferers have issues around the holidays but let me tell you, try and live in the moment.

One thing I have been practicing that has been very helpful during spikes is to focus all of my attention on something that is outside of my OCD. Yesterday, I just lived in the festivities and socialized a lot. Eventually my OCD rumination went away on its own.

I know that OCD feels like a never ending battle but I am here to tell you, it does get better. Practicing no compulsions is your key to success. Work hard at it and you could be like me. Rarely do I have intrusive thoughts and when I do, I am able to brush them off with ease using the tools I learned in therapy.

OCD sufferers, try and enjoy the holidays. I know it’s hard but focus on the present and live in the moment. Let your intrusive thoughts just be noise because that is what they are.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from russ
All posts