Paradox Live Dope Show 2023

I'm glad that there was a way for international fans to watch the show legally on mahocast! Thanks to this tweet for the information.

First time watching their live show. I grabbed the evening session based on the song list for the Blu-ray, then eventually got the matinee session as well. My poor wallet 😂

Here's the official Spotify playlist (which has the songs at the beginning, followed by the voice drama tracks later on) and English fan account on Twitter (which has other links to translations, etc.). The official website is https://paradoxlive.jp/

Overall both sessions were enjoyable. The different song sets for the first half definitely kept them from being a repeat. I enjoy the freetalk part even though I don't fully understand their conversations, heh. I've been rewatching them before they took it down on 28th.

My original intention to watch was because of Makonyan but the other cast were all good and this helped put faces to the voices :D I'm seriously still amazed at Ayumu's voice; not what I was expecting... I was mostly exposed to his higher pitch characters (for example in VS AMBIVALENZ). Some individual session thoughts below:

Evening show

  • Started off with 獄Luck! This is the first appearance on stage for Makonyan. I felt like he was a bit nervous during my first watch. The costume department really nailed the outfit for Inukai/Hancho XD
  • I just realize that 1NM8 read as "inmate". I'm sorry for never paying attention to the lyric... It was a pity that the team was missing a member but he appeared via VTR.
  • Inoue Marina-san was so cool TvT)b
  • Hanae made me laugh for some reason. He was probably channeling his character, so he was very "genki" throughout the show.
  • Free talk: 1NM8, The Cat's Whiskers (TCW), BAE, AMPRULE
  • Gakuto slipped when he was announcing the name of the last song and the senpais were reassuring him it was ok, yasashii~ (a bit unsure if it was this session or earlier one)

Matinee show

  • VISTY started off the show and it was very kira kira~ I definitely love the chemistry between the members. This is also Aimi? first appearance.
  • Free talk: 悪漢奴等 (AKYR), cozmez, 獄Luck, VISTY
    • Tosshi was very hilarious with his comment about VISTY show being very sparkling with stars on the floor. Someone had drawn a fanart of the situation on Twitter (very cute!)
    • Tosshi exerting his "senpai" status was kinda hilarious as well.
    • Makonyan turned into Inukai mode during his self-introduction. He was channelling Hancho pretty hard during the performances.
  • Now that I see 獄Luck's STRONGER performance, I found this to be the stronger one of the four songs (unintentional pun? 👀).
    • I can't deny that Makonyan was pretty kakkoii for the song's opening. The camera man knew 🤭 And then a lot of fanarts appeared on Twitter afterward XD
  • cozmez = chaotic senpais (and then I realized that at least 3 performers are from the '84 batch)

More from LYN
All posts