Tuesday, Apr 9, 2024 at 11:43 AM

I'm a bit better now. Still sick, still broken, but better. It helped to compost my thoughts yesterday. It really did.

All things take time. Healing too. Breaking too, for that matter. It took many years until I truly broke. So why can't I give myself any time to heal? Why is half a day all I give myself? Why not a weekend? Or a week? Or a month? Or a year?

I'm feeling well enough today that I'm already slipping back into the same old pattern: endless TODO list. Ready to crush it. Ready to crush myself. I feel great. "I can do it!"

And this will be true until it isn't.

The older I get the more respect I have for tradition. The more understanding I have for it. There's a reason we take Sundays off. There's a reason why Saturdays are holy days in many cultures. No work. No electricity. Nothing to do, except for praying, eating, sleeping. Family. Time off. Pause. Reflect. Slow down. Enjoy the silence.

I guess that's what's missing in today's culture. It's definitely missing in my life. Looking forward to and planning for pauses. Having real and serious time off. No availability. No DMs. No emails. No possibility to get work done, even if you wanted to.

Offline truly is the new luxury, and most people can't afford it.

More from A Troubled Mind
All posts