Being an Expat

Nearly five years ago, I decided to leave my home country to start a new life in the states. I decided based on career prospects and didn't consider how it would affect my relationships back home.

In my mind, I was only going to live abroad for a few years and that I could somehow manage the distance for a bit. Unfortunately, the excitement of living in a new place and experiencing new things meant my relationships back home were at times left neglected. I wanted it all but never really took the time to plan how to have it all.

I never really understood it back then, but being an ex-pat, you deal with a unique set of challenges.

First, you have to get used to living in an entirely new place and culture. I remember when I arrived in the states. I felt naked. It was such a strange and vulnerable feeling. But I appreciate that this discomfort helped me mature and become more independent.

Second, you have to deal with the fact you're slowly losing the identity that you had back home. Not that this new identity is a bad thing, but it's something you need to understand and accept.

Finally, you never really feel like your new home is your home. Coming from a family-oriented culture, travelling around without an actual nest egg doesn't make the situation any easier.

I know there will be many more life decisions that make me feel that way, but I'm optimistic about my ability to come out for the better.

More from Vibe Check
All posts