Flow

Getting into the flow state is one of the most satisfying and productive moments of work. The laser focus and ability to navigate distractions like second nature can feel like operating at 100% efficiency vs 30% efficiency.

When I first heard people's experience of Flow state, I didn't think much of it. Sure it sounded good, but why do I need to practice getting into it? It is a skill that we can hone? After reflecting on the times I entered Flow state, I observed common patterns that led up to it. It also made me realize I don't get into a Flow state that often, and when I do, it's almost by chance.

Thinking for myself, create instead of consuming

When I have to think creatively towards a well-defined goal, I can quickly get into a Flow state. When the goal is too broad, or the problem is too challenging, it can be a little tricky. When I have to do some impromptu math calculation, figure out how to implement a specific feature or attempt to brain dump on Listed (like right now), I feel my mind start to shift towards Flow.

Dampening external stimuli

I used to think I needed perfect silence or background music to drown out external sounds from interrupting my thoughts. Although it can still be helpful, I can achieve the same by practising mindfulness. I make the deliberate choice to let go of any attachments or feelings that come up from stimuli. I see it and accept it, not fighting back. I think this is where practising meditation regularly seems to help.

I would consider myself Silver-tier at best in regards to reaching Flow. I have so much more to learn and only recently have realized the value of getting better at entering the state.

More from Vibe Check
All posts