Asian Hate Crimes

Hearing about the increased hate crimes against my Asian brothers and sisters really upsets me. Being of Vietnamese/Chinese descent I feel a need to participate in whatever way I can.

In one video I watched, an Asian man was attacked on an N.Y.C subway and eventually choked out. No one tried to stop it. The victim didn't even file a police report. The police only found out about it from a viral TikTok video. If you haven't given it much thought, it can be hard to know what you would do as a bystander when confronted with this situation.

Starting today I will train to fight. I never want myself or the people around me to be put into a similar situation. I want to be part of a stronger Asian identity that instead of competes against each other, protects each other.

On this journey, I will not redirect hate towards another group.

More from Vibe Check
All posts