Update 4/18/22

OK I promise I've got an idea for a philosophy post, it's just getting rather late and I don't want to spend a bunch of time of it. Today was mildly productive once again. Unfortunately I didn't meet my goal of finishing homework by 6, but I got pretty close (6:30). I got have to concede that I am procrastinating some work off to tomorrow though. I keep forgetting that I have an entire AP stats mock exam to do. The reason for the lack of productivity was me spending such a long time on pushing for AP Physics II as a class at my school. We need at least 20 people per class, so I've got to get some support for it. I think I'm going to switch cybersecurity for AP CSP though, because even though the easy teacher is leaving I can probably just finish the assignments very quickly and have free time. I also lost some productivity around 7ish from talking to my mom about UIL regionals on Friday. I don't consider this a bad loss though, I feel bad for my parents for the little interaction they get with their children. My mom asked me if any girls had a crush on me, which was kinda awkward.

In Crime and Punishment, I'm now on chapter 2 of part 5. I find it interesting how we now are following Luzhin around. I think this chapter really emphasizes how Luzhin is an evil character - merely listening to political/philosophy theory to pursue his own goals, the articulation of why he wanted Dunya so badly, and the extremely sus behavior with Sonya make him seem very immoral. I think there were some spots of dialogue where it was confusing who was speaking. For example, I am still confused on whose money was laying about: it seems like it is Semyonovich based on Luzhin's disdainful reaction to Semyonovich's handling of it, but then Luzhin just gives it to Sonya? I'm just going to chalk this up to translation though. I found Semyonovich's character and philosophy to be developed very well. It felt very consistent with the progressive ideology he is described as, and considering the communist influence in Russia during this time period it felt very coherent.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Vincent Tran
All posts