Update 4/30/22

I got my learner's permit last Friday morning. in doing so, I missed a Mu Alpha Theta meeting. Unfortunately this was a pretty important one as it was elections day and a day where a presentation that I made was being given. Luckily I ran unopposed for president, so I won. Also, the student council and NHS officer elections have been going on recently. Thus I was thinking about why we even have democracy in things like school club positions. Ultimately, these positions aren't even going to have that much power, and elections like these are considered much more trivial thus making them more susceptible to just being a popularity contest. Although, this is just more of a characteristic of high school. This gave me the idea of starting a totalitarian club at our school. The premise is to try and reduce senseless democracy, but I am not sure the club would be approved or even have anything to do. There seems like very few activities other than discuss political theory (like Moloch) and protest. Maybe another thing it could do is to form sort of like a political party? By this I mean have people in the club run for every single one of other club's positions as sort of an "administration" and then try to remove the positions. That actual seems like it might be a decent idea if I wasn't a senior next year as the campaigning would require a cohesive vision (I just came up with it). Although, there was something interesting going on the student council; the person who was president wasn't allowed to run this spring because of her parents, but no one currently on the council was willing to take her position. There was even two people running for the same position yet no one running for president! Apparently the student council sponsor really hates the historic president, so perhaps I'll try running (the hatred is relevant because the president position requires experience with STUCO, and I don't have any). If I am allowed to and the exception for experience isn't disclosed to everyone, I'll run and then resign if I win. Also, I finished the round 2 application to the Atlas Fellowship today. It took all of today, yesterday, and a little time before that to finish it. Although, I woke up at about 1 today, so there wasn't much time to start with. As a result, I am now super behind on homework and have yet to study for my AP tests coming up. And I have AP chem on Monday. I think the effective altruism movement is definitely interesting, so I'd like to win not juts for the money but for the summer camp and books as well. The application was rather arduous as the questions required quite a bit of thought.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Vincent Tran
All posts