Update 5/8/22

I was going to make that philosophical post today, but I didn't realize how much work I had. I had an English essay, and I have to study for calc tomorrow. I forgot there were so many things to memorize like theorems and integrals. Today was pretty unproductive, especially in the afternoon. I woke up at around 1 pm and then watched YouTube for like 4 hours. After that I tried to get an ad-blocker on the school Chromebook. My approach was to change the DNS server, but that didn't work because the school locked the option. I also tried blocking ad websites on my router, but I think we aren't allowed to block them, which is so incredibly stupid. I tried blocking an ad website, then blocking some random website. Then I tried going to the ad website and was let through. I then tried the random website and was blocked. I then gave us and started to study for Physics C. After a little while I realized that we might be able to use the local override feature on chrome to do it. I then realized that we had to have inspect element open for the changes to persistent. Plus I'd have to manually delete ads. I then discovered the network request blocking feature, and that worked splendidly. I got to work blocking ads and trackers, but they only were blocked when I had inspect element open, so it wasn't a complete success. I think it was worth it though, I really, really hate ads. I think I'll try to make a guide sometime.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Vincent Tran
All posts