Update 5/7/22

I had a philosophical post planned, but I feel like my head isn't clear enough to make it of sufficient quality, so I'll do it tomorrow. Today the for interviewees for the Atlas fellowship were notified. I didn't get an interview, sad. Today was mildly productive. I woke at about 12 pm, then watched YouTube for about 4 hours. I was then pretty concentrated and got some good progress done on my math proofs I haven't touched in a while, so that's progress. For me, I do find math interesting but its starting it that's hard. I always seem to find something else to do or check, but when I start math the hours really fly by, so it's good that I got started. After that, I was studying for Physics C. I should probably do some studying for calc too: a friend asked me about a few problems today, and I was stumped more than I expected. The past week has been rather chaotic though - at our school we had state testing and AP tests in the same week, but then for the state testing some classes were relocated and everyone had the same lunch (we have two lunch blocks) but for some reason there was 0 communication about it. We got no emails about relocation, lunches, what to do after/before AP tests, nada. After calc tommorow, I basically have the rest of the day off. I have psychology, in which we don't have anything (I think), calc (nothing since the test was that morning), and then APUSH (the test was Friday, and he has told us we do nothing I also finished Crime and Punishment last week. The ending was somewhat corny, but done very well. It just was such a moving ending for the characters, and it also emphasized my thoughts on the novel being a critique of progressivism. The philosophy post I had planned today was on mortality, and coincidentally my mom asked me about whether I was sad about the Atlas fellowship rejection (of which I, of course, responded yes although not that much), and she tried to begin a lecture on why I shouldn't aid for top schools. Her argument was that I wouldn't be happy. That coincided with my planned post as in it I will argue that inevitable death renders the pursuit of happiness pointless. I tried to tell her this, but then she just said she was tired and didn't say anything in response. She does this fairly frequently when I try to challenge her beliefs. I suppose it is reasonable considering her approximate 50 years of this belief.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Vincent Tran
All posts