A Poem Blackouted from Toni Morrison's "The Bluest Eye"

Blackouting a poem is when you take a piece of existing text, and blackout text from it to create your own text. Here is one I tried to imbue with meaning and made in English a few days ago (grammar slightly edited), as best I can recall it.

It had begun with Christmas
Mother wanted me great pleasure
It resisted my flesh.
I had only one desire
to find Beauty
"Here" they said, this is beauty: love
it was
dying
rusty
sawdust
Grown people frowned
What's the matter with you?
Outrage
Authority
Years of unfulfillment

If you want to know what I was trying for, here: https://listed.to/p/vUv3wnmcVT

If you want to let me know your thoughts on my poem, the a link to the Guestbook (basically the comment section) is in the header.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Vincent Tran
All posts