[20] Think and Grow Rich Chp. 3,4

Napoleon Hill

https://youtu.be/nR2SuK_kglQ

Chapter 3: Faith

  • Faith is the head chemist of the mind. When Faith is blended with the vibration of thought, the subconscious mind instantly picks up the vibration, translates it into its spiritual equivalent, and transmits it to Infinite Intelligence, as in the case of prayer
    • Thoughts that I have in my subconscious mind programs my subconscious mind. My subconscious mind has a paradigm pointing me towards failure or success. It determines the actions that I take and the behaviors that I have. Resistance to success may come from my subconscious minds, in that case a reprogram is necessary. When my paradigm is programmed towards a place of abundance, removing fears, and purposefully, worthwhile goals to create value for others, my subconscious mind will go into a certain frequency that resonates with the infinite intelligence where ideas, inspirations, and hunches come from
  • Faith is a state of mind which may be induced, or created, by affirmations or repeated instructions to the subconscious mind, through the principles of auto-suggestion
  • In connection to this, consider again the statement, All Thoughts Which Have Been Emotionalized, (given feeling) And Mixed With Faith, begin immediately to translate themselves into their physical equivalent or counterpart
  • My Belief, or Faith, is the element which determines the action of my subconscious mind
  • The subconscious mind will transmute into its physical equivalent, by the most direct and practical media available, any order which is given to it in a state of Belief, or Faith that the order will be carried out
  • A mind dominated by positive emotions, becomes a favorable abode for the state of mind known as faith. A mind so dominated may, at will, give the subconscious mind instructions, which it will accept and act upon immediately
  • The foregoing sentence is worth reading a second time, and a third, and a fourth. It is worth reading aloud!
    • Faith is the starting point of all accumulation of riches!
    • Faith is the basis of all "miracles," and all mysteries which cannot be analyzed by the rules of science!
    • Faith is the only known antidote for Failure
    • Faith is the element, the "chemical" which, when mixed with prayer, gives one direct communication with Infinite Intelligence
    • Faith is the element which transforms the ordinary vibration of thought, created by the finite mind of man, into spiritual equivalent
    • Faith is the only agency through which the cosmic force of Infinite Intelligence can be harnessed and used by man
  • Every man is what he is, because of the Dominating Thoughts which he permits to occupy his mind. Thoughts which I deliberately place in my own mind, and encourage with sympathy, and with which I mix any one or more of the emotions, constitute the motivating forces, which direct and control my ever movement, act, and deed!
  • Self confidence formula (affirmations):
    1. I know that I have the ability to achieve the object of my Definite Purpose in life, therefore, I demand of my self persistent, continuous action towards its attainment, and I here and now promise to render such action
    2. I realize the dominating thoughts of my mind will eventually reproduce themselves in outward, physical action, and gradually transform themselves into physical reality, therefore, I will concentrate my thoughts for thirty minutes daily, upon the task of thinking of the person I intend to become, thereby creating in my mind a clear mental picture of that person
    3. I know through the principle of auto-suggestion, any desire that I persistently hold in my mind will eventually seek expression through some practical mean of attaining the object back of it, therefore, I will devote ten minutes daily to demanding of myself the development of Self-Confidence
    4. I have clearly written down a description of my Definite Chief Aim in life, and I will never stop trying, until I shall have developed sufficient self-confidence for its attainment
    5. I fully realize that no wealth or position can long endure, unless built upon truth and justice, therefore, I will engage in no transaction which does not benefit all whom it affects. I will succeed by attracting to myself the forces I wish to use, and the cooperation of other people. I will induce others to serve me, because of my willingness to serve others. I will eliminate hatred, envy, jealousy, selfishness, and cynicism, by developing love for all humanity, because I know that a negative attitude toward others can never bring me success. I will cause others to believe in me, because I will believe in them, and in myself
  • I will sign my name to this formula, commit it to memory, and repeat it aloud once a day, with full Faith that it will gradually influence my Thoughts and Actions so that I will become a self-reliant, and successful person
  • The subconscious mind, (the chemical laboratory in which all thought impulses are combined, and made ready for translation into physical reality), makes no distinction between constructive and destructive thought impulses. It works with the material I feed it, through my thought impulses. The subconscious mind will translate into reality a thought driven by Fear just as readily as it will translate into reality a thought driven by Courage, or Faith
  • If I fill my mind with Fear, doubt, and unbelief in my ability to connect with, and use the forces of Infinite Intelligence, the law of auto-suggestion will take this spirit of unbelief and use it as a pattern by which my subconscious mind will translate it into its physical equivalent
  • It is a known fact that the emotion of Love is closely akin to the state of mind known as Faith, and this for the reason that Love comes very near to translating one's thought impulses into their spiritual equivalent
  • Riches begin in the form of Thought!
    • The amount is limited only by the person in whose mind the Thought is put into motion. Faith removes limitations! Remember this when I am ready to bargain with Life for whatever it is that I ask as my price for having passed this way

Chapter 4: Auto-Suggestion

  • Auto-Suggestion is a term which applies to all suggestions and all self-administered stimuli which reach one's mind through the five senses. Stated in another way, auto-suggestion is self-suggestion. It is the agency of communication between that part of the mind where conscious thought takes place, and that which serves as the seat of action for the subconscious mind
  • Nature has so built man that he has Absolute Control over the material which reaches his subconscious mind, through his five senses, although this is not meant to be construed as a statement what man always exercises this control. In the great majority of instances, he does not exercise it, which explains why so many people go through life in poverty
    • Time to recognize what is programming me and make a decision that I am going to surround myself with information, people, circumstances, etc., that is going to reprogram my subconscious mind to that of success
    • I know what I want to create, it is a definite plan and a definite purpose to get there, then I create a plan, and now I recognize the skills, specialized knowledge, and information that I need to consume that will reprogram my subconscious mind so I move in that direction and take action in that direction as fast a possible
  • Recall what has been said about the subconscious mind resembling a fertile garden spot, in which weeds will grow in abundance, if the seeds of more desirable crops are not sown therein. Auto-Suggestion is the agency of control through which I may voluntarily feed my subconscious mind on thoughts of a creative nature, or, by neglect, permit thoughts of a destructive nature to find their way into my rich garden o f the mind
  • I do not become discouraged if I cannot control and direct my emotions the first time I try to do so. I remember there is no such possibility as Something for Nothing. Ability to reach, and influence my subconscious mind has its price, and I Must Pay That Price
    • I cannot cheat, even if I desire to do so. The price of ability to influence my subconscious mind is everlasting Persistence in applying the principles described here. I cannot develop the desired ability for a lower price. I, and I Alone, must decide whether or not the reward for which I am striving (the "money consciousness"), is worth the price I must pay for it in effort
  • My ability to use the principle of Auto-Suggestion will depend, very largely, upon my capacity to Concentrate upon a given Desire until that desire becomes a Burning Obsession
  • Here is the most significant fact- the subconscious mind takes any orders given it in a spirit of absolute Faith, and acts upon those orders, although the orders often have to be presented over and over again, through repetition, before they are interpreted by the subconscious mind
  • I do not wait for a definite plan, through which I intend to exchange services or merchandise in return for the money I am visualizing, but I begin at once to see myself in possession of the money, Demanding and Expecting meanwhile, that my subconscious mind will hand over the plan, or plans I need. I be on the alert for these plans, and when they appear, I put them into Action Immediately
  • When visualizing the money I intend to accumulate, (with closed eyes), I see myself rendering the service, or delivering the merchandise I intend to give in return for this money. This is important!
  • If I choose to follow some of the instructions, but neglect, or refuse to follow others- I will fail! To get satisfactory results, I must follow All instructions in a spirit of Faith.
    • The instructions given in connection with the six steps in the second chapter will now be summarized, and blended with the principles covered by this chapter, as follows:
      1. Go into some quiet spot (preferably in bed at night) where I will not be disturbed or interrupted close my eyes, and repeat aloud, (so I may hear my own words) the written statement of the amount of money I intend to accumulate, the time limit for its accumulation, and a description of the service or merchandise I intend to give in return for the money. As I carry out these instructions, See Myself Already In Possession Of The Money
      2. Repeat this program night and morning until I can see, (in my imagination) the money I intend to accumulate
      3. Place a written copy of my statement where I can see it night and morning, and read it just before retiring, and upon arising until it has been memorized
    • These instructions may, at first, seem abstract. Do not let them disturb me. Follow the instructions, no matter how abstract or impractical they may, at first, appear to be. The time will soon come, if I do as I have been instructed, in spirit as well as in act, when a whole new universe of power will unfold to me
  • Skepticism, in connection with All new ideas, is characteristic of all human beings. But if I follow the instructions outlined, my skepticism will soon be replaced by belief, and this, in turn, will soon become crystallized into Absolute Faith. Then, I will have arrived at the point where I may truly say, "I am the master of my fate, I am the captain of my soul!"

You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Andrew Bouras
All posts