[21] Think and Grow Rich Chp 5,6

Napoleon Hill

https://youtu.be/nR2SuK_kglQ

Chapter 5: Specialized Knowledge

  • There are two kinds of knowledge. One is general, the other is specialized. General knowledge, no matter how great in quantity or variety it may be, is of but little use in the accumulation of money. The faculties of the great universities possess, in the aggregate, practically every form of general knowledge known to civilization. Most of the professors have but little or no money. They specialize on teaching knowledge, but they do not specialize on the organization, or the use of knowledge
    • School and University is important for learning how to learn, learning how to do projects, and learning a lot of valuable information that can help me, but regardless of my profession, I adopt that lifelong learning is the way to go. This means that technology and skills are evolving so fast that I have to constantly be learning and getting better at understanding and taking action on the information specific to the foundation that I learned on school
  • Knowledge will not attract money, unless it is organized, and intelligently directed, through practical Plans of Action, to the Definite End of accumulation of money
    • Knowledge alone won't bring in money. I learn how to communicate my value, I help others see how what I have to offer is valuable to them, I learn how to sell myself and sell the ideas, how to manage myself and others, how to be more productive and organized, etc. These compliment the specialized knowledge and a plan of action which result in the accumulation of money
  • Before I can be sure of my ability to transmute Desire into its monetary equivalent, I will require Specialized Knowledge of the service, merchandise, or profession which I intend to offer in return for fortune
    • This can be in experience
    • 80% action, 20% learning
  • The accumulation of great fortunes calls for Power, and power is acquired through highly organized and intelligently directed specialized knowledge, but that knowledge does not, necessarily, have to be in the possession of the man who accumulates the fortune
    • I can surround myself with people with specialized knowledge. This is why leadership skills are so important; my ability to connect with people allows me to focus on the general concepts and end goal while having workers do the technical aspects of my projects
  • The person who stops studying merely because he has finished school is forever hopelessly doomed to mediocrity, no matter what may be his calling. The way of success is the way of continuous pursuit of knowledge

Chapter 6: Imagination

  • The imagination is literally the workshop wherein fashioned all plans created by me. The impulse, the Desire, is given shape, form, and Action through the aid of the imaginative faculty of the mind
  • My Only Limitation, within reason, Lies In My Development And Use Of My Imagination. I have not yet reached the apex of development in the use of my imagination faculty. I have merely discovered that I have an imagination, and, so far, I have commenced to use it in very elementary ways
  • 2 forms of Imagination:
    • Synthetic Imagination: Through this faculty, I may arrange old concepts, ideas, or plans into new combinations. This faculty creates nothing. It merely works with the material of experience, education, and observation with which it is fed. It is the faculty used most by the inventor, with the exception of the who draws upon the creative imagination, when I cannot solve my problem through synthetic imagination
    • Creative imagination: Through the faculty of creative imagination, the finite mind of man has direct communication with Infinite Intelligence. It is the faculty through which "hunches" and "inspirations" are received. It is by this faculty that all basic, or new ideas are handed over to man
    • It is this faculty that thought vibrations from the minds of others are received. It is through this faculty that one individual may "tune in," or communicate with the subconscious minds of other men
    • The creative imagination works automatically. This faculty functions Only when the conscious mind is vibrating at an exceedingly rapid rate, as for example, when the conscious mind is stimulated thought he emotion of a strong desire
  • If I am one of those who believe that hard work and honestly, alone, will bring riches, perish the thought! It is not true! Riches, when they come in huge quantities, are never the result of Hard work! Riches come, if they come at all, in response to definite demands, based upon the application of definite principles, and not by chance or luck
    • Generally speaking, an idea is an impulse of thought that impels action, by an appeal to the imagination. All master salesmen know that ideas can be sold where merchandise cannot. Ordinary salesmen do not know this- that is why they are ordinary Perceived value: Commanding a higher fee resulting in a rich organization, people, and companies. Creating something that was not there before that we now see as valuable

You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Andrew Bouras
All posts