[41] How to Be More Resourceful (Mental Alchemy)

The Kybalion

https://youtu.be/QbGK019UxhU

My True Nature

The cave you fear to enter holds the treasure you seek." - Joseph Campbell

  • When "ideas" of fear are released from the cave of my subconscious mind, light shines on the treasures that were always there

Mental Transmutation

  • I am in my true essence, resourceful
  • I learned how to be unresourceful through conditioning. I have to remind myself of my innate resourcefulness in order to unlearn the idea that I am unresourceful
  • "Transmutation" is a term usually employed to designate the ancient art of the transmutation of metals, particularly of the base metals into gold
    • The word "Transmute" means "to change from one nature, form, or substance, into another; to transform (Webster). And accordingly, "Mental Transmutation" means the art of changing and transforming mental states, forms, and conditions, into others. So I may see that Mental Transmutation is the "Art of Mental Chemistry" if I like the term, a form of practical Mystic Psychology

The Principle of Mentalism

  • As a matter of fact, none but advanced Mental Alchemists have been able to attain the degree of power necessary to control the grosser physical conditions, such as the control of the elements of Nature; the production or cessation of tempests; the production and cessation of earthquakes and other great physical phenomena
    • Contemplate through Me [the Divine Mind], the world and consider its beauty…See that all things are full of light. See the earth, settled in the midst of all, the great nurse who nourishes all earthy creatures, All is full of Soul, and all beings are in movement. - The Corpus Hermeticum
    • Creative and Synthetic imagination is exercised while practicing resourcefulness which reveals even more opportunities and resourcefulness
    • An idea is a way of teaching to me about myself. Ideas + resources + Imagination create success
    • Value the intangible resources and I'll learn how to better leverage the tangible ones
    • What I have right now is everything I need, the key is in learning how and that skill is resourcefulness
    • When I see an idea into completion I exercise my Imagination and Resourcefulness to acquire wisdom and am ready for the next level of understanding
    • "The lips of wisdom are closed, except to the ears of Understanding" - The Kybalion

The Principle of Correspondence

  • Following the Principle of Correspondence, I am justified in considering that the All creates the universe mentally, in a manner akin to the process whereby I create mental images
    • Look at the five sensory data, what I experience in my awareness, and form mental images to look at them in a certain way that I might not have looked at them before by changing the meaning I give to the five sensory data so that I stimulate mental images of resourcefulness and bringing forth my definite chief aim
  • The ancient Hermetists considered this Principle as one of the most important mental instruments by which man was able to pry aside the obstacles which hid from view the Unknown
    • All of creation is complete and everything exists here and now, I move through a bridge of incidents to reveal it through "faith" in resourcefulness
    • All resources within my awareness have value, opportunity is also found to learn how to value them
    • Resourcefulness or Lack of Resourcefulness reveals the meaning I give to myself
    • Jumping from one resource to the next will eventually bring me to the lesson to learn how to be more resourceful because resourcefulness is a form of unconditional love

The Principle of Cause & Effect

  • Instead of being played and moved about by other wills and environment, the Hermetists used this Principle instead of being its tools. The Masters obey the Causation of the higher planes, but they help to Rule on their own plane. In this statement there is condensed a wealth of Hermetic knowledge--let him read who can
    • This Principle embodies the fact that there is a Cause for every Effect; an Effect from every Cause. It explains that: "Everything happens according to Law"; that nothing ever "merely happens"; that there is no such thing as Chance; that while there are various planes of Cause and Effect, the higher dominating the lower planes, still nothing ever entirely escapes the Law
    • Opportunities reveal themselves on the journey as I become more resourceful with what I have right now
    • I learn to see what I can't see on the journey of higher degrees of resourcefulness
    • Practicing resourcefulness reminds myself of how all past successes were created

The Principle of Polarity

  • Everything is dual; Everything has poles; Everything has its pair of opposites; Like and unlike are the same; Opposites are identical in nature, but different in degrees; Extremes meet; All truths, are but half-truths; All paradoxes may be reconciled
  • This principle is important to Hermeticists, because it suggests I can change the polarity of a degree of emotion, by recognizing it is the same and choosing the degree which best suits my needs
    • "Art of Polarization" becomes a phase of "Mental Alchemy" known and practiced by the ancient and modern Hermetic Masters. An understanding of the Principle will enable one to change his own Polarity, as well as that of others, if he will devote the time and study necessary to master the art
    • Resourcefulness creates more gratefulness for what resources I have so that I can find more flow in what I am doing
    • The masses of people are carried along, obedient to environment; the wills and desires of others stronger than themselves; heredity; suggestion; and other outward causes moving them about like pawns on the Chessboard of Life. But the Masters, rising to the plane above, dominate their moods, characters, qualities, and powers, as well as the environment surrounding them, and become Movers instead of pawns
    • Resourcefulness helps me overcome challenge through leveraging existing resources during challenging times while maintaining my "flow"
    • The skill of subconscious resourcefulness is developed via the journey of realizing my current definite chief aim
    • Patience is said to be a virtue because it causes me to meditate through cause and effect reflection to reveal the resources that may be hidden by fears, doubts, and indecision

Mind resourcefulness in application

  • 4MAT
    • Why
    • What
    • How
    • If
  • Everything Is and Isn't at the same time
    • The beliefs, opportuntiies, habits, ideas, research, data, strategies, knowledge, and experience that was applicable for a certain outcome may or may not be applicable for other outcomes, and wisdom is knowing the difference
    • Knowledge + Experience = Wisdom
  • Work in these areas to stimulate my greater ability of resourcefulness (Imagination, Self-Image, Skills, and Environment)
    • Beliefs
    • Opportunities
    • Habits
    • Ideas
    • Research & Data
    • Strategies
    • Knowledge
    • Experience
    • Wisdom

You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Andrew Bouras
All posts