[42] Self-Control

Neville Goddard, Napoleon Hill

https://youtu.be/uUEHEFWtI5Q

Premise

  • Self-control is solely a matter of thought control
  • Most of my thoughts is a revelation of what is in my identity
  • Picture myself as the ideal self, as having already achieved my definite chief aim, would I still be having these same thoughts? Would I still be having these same emotions? Would I still be doing these same behaviors? If the answer is No, then I reflect back and I realize that the reason why it is not so is because my thoughts, emotions, and behaviors are governed by the identity that was built based on past experience, people, environment, circumstance-based information, data, and meaning that I have assumed to be true in my mind and as a result of that I have formed an identity
    • I can change this identity around through subconscious mind reconditioning through affirmations and imagination, as well as behavioral changes by taking action
    • What I will notice is that my identity will change and I will automatically behave in certain ways. I will purposefully be doing what I should be doing, why I am doing it, and I will find myself in flow, where challenge meets skill

Napoleon Hill

  • Enthusiasm and Desire
    • I come, now, to the study of self-control, through which I may direct my enthusiasm to constructed ends. Without self-control, enthusiasm resembles unharnessed lightning of an electrical storm. It may strike anywhere; it may destroy life and property
    • Enthusiasm is the vital quality that arouses me through action, while self-control is the balance wheel that directs my action so that it will build and not
    • To be a person who is well "balanced," I must be a person in whom enthusiasm and self-control are equalized
    • Back of all achievement, back of all self-control, back of all thought control, is that magic something called desire!
  • Expressed Desires
    • It is no misstatement of fact to say that I am limited only by the depth of my desires!
    • When my desires are strong enough I appear to possess superhuman powers to achieve
    • If I were in a building that was on fire, and all the doors and windows were locked, the chances are that I would develop sufficient strength with which to break down the average door, because of my intense desire to free myself
    • If I desire to acquire the art of successful negotiation, as I undoubtedly will when I understand its significance in relation to my achievement of my definite chief aim, I will do so, providing my desire is intense enough
  • Response and Reflection
    • When I deliberately choose the thoughts which dominate my mind and firmly refuse admittance of outside suggestion, I am exercising self-control of its highest and most efficient
    • I have not only the power to think but, what is thousand times more important still, I have the power to control my thoughts and direct them to my bidding!
  • Influence
    • With a well-developed self-control, I will not permit myself to be influenced by the cynic or the pessimist; nor will I permit another person to do my thinking for me
    • With a well-developed self-control, I will stimulate my imagination and my enthusiasm until they have produced action, but I will then control that action and not permit it to control me
    • With a well-developed self-control, I will never, under any circumstances, slander another person or seek revenge for any cause whatsoever
    • With a well-developed self-control, I will not hate those who do not grow with me; instead, I will endeavor to understand the reason for their disagreement, and profit by it
  • Identity
    • No one has any right to form an opinion that is not based either upon that which he believes to be facts, or upon a reasonable hypothesis; yet, if I will observe myself carefully, I will catch myself forming opinions on nothing more substantial than my desire for a thing to be or not to be
    • Place in my own mind, through the principle of Auto-suggestion, the positive, constructive thoughts which harmonize with my definite chief aim in life, and that mind will transform those thoughts into physical reality and hand them back to me, as a finished product

Neville Goddard

  • Mastery of self-control of my thoughts and feelings is my highest achievement. However, until perfect self-control is attained, so that, in spite of appearances, I feel all that I want to feel, use sleep and prayer to aid me in realizing my desired states. These are the two gateways into the subconscious
  • Sleep
    • Night after night, I should assume the feeling of being, having and witnessing that which I seek to be, possess and see manifested. Never go to sleep feeling discouraged or dissatisfied. Never sleep in total consciousness of failure. My subconscious, whose natural state is sleep, sees me as I believe myself to be, and whether it be good, bad, or indifferent, the subconscious will faithfully embody my belief
    • Unless I consciously and purposely define the attitude of mind with which I go to sleep, I unconsciously go to sleep in the composite attitudes of mind made up of all feelings and reactions of the day
  • Prayer
    • Prayer is an illusion of sleep which diminishes the impression of the outer world and renders the mind more receptive to suggestion from within. The mind in prayer is in a state of relaxation and receptivity akin to the feeling attained just before dropping off to sleep
    • The perfectly disciplined man is always in tune with the wish as an accomplished fact. He knows that consciousness is the one and only reality, that ideas and feelings are facts of consciousness and are as real as objects in space; therefore he never entertains feelings which does not contribute to his happiness, for feelings are the causes of the actions and circumstances of his life

Napoleon Hill Affirmation/Prayer for self-control

  • Plant in my mind the seed of a desire that is constructive by making the following my creed and the foundation of my code of ethics:
    • I wish to be of service to my fellow men as I journey through life. To do this I have adopted this creed as a guide to be followed in dealing with my fellow-beings:
    • To train myself so that never, under any circumstances, will I find fault with any person, no matter how much I may disagree with him or how inferior his work may be, as long as I know he is sincerely trying to do his best
    • To respect my country, my profession and myself. To be honest and fair with my fellow men, as I expect them to be honest and fair with me. To be a loyal citizen of my country. To speak of it with praise, and act always as a worthy custodian of its good name. To be a person whose name carriers weight wherever it goes
    • To base my expectations of reward on a solid foundation of service rendered. To be willing to pay the price of success in honest effort. To look upon my work as an opportunity to be seized with joy and made the most of, and not as a painful drudgery to be reluctantly endured
    • To remember that success lies within myself, in my own brain. If difficulties occur to "flow" my way through them. "To avoid procrastination in all its forms, and never, under any circumstances, put off until tomorrow any duty that should be performed today.
    • Finally, to take a good grip on the joys of life, so I may be courteous to men, faithful to friends and true to God

You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Andrew Bouras
All posts