[61] Thought Vibration

William Walker Atkinson

https://youtu.be/yQ0rSMHQxAI

Deeper reflections on the Thought World

  • I often hear repeated the well-known Mental Science statement, "Thoughts are Things," and I say these words over without consciously realizing just what is the meaning of the statement
    • If I fully comprehend the truth of the statement and the natural consequences of the truth back of it, I should understand many things which have appeared dark to me, and would be just able to use the wonderful power, Thought Force, just as I use any other manifestation of Energy
  • I do not allow myself to be affected by the adverse and negative thoughts of those around me. I rise to the upper chambers of my mental dwelling, and key myself up to a strong pitch, away above the vibrations on the lower planes of thought
    • Then, I will not only be immune to their negative vibrations, but will be in touch with the great body of strong positive thought coming from those of my own plane of development
  • Do not understand me as advocating a high tension continuously. This is not at all desirable, not only because it is apt to be too much of a strain upon me, but also because I will find it desirable to relieve the tension at times and become receptive that I may absorb impressions
    • It is well to be able to relax and assume a certain degree of receptiveness, knowing that I am always able to spring back to the more positive state at will

Receiving Divine Will

  • The amenability of the mind to the will can be increased by properly directed practice. That which we are in the habit of referring to as the "strengthening of the Will" is in reality the training of the mind to recognize and absorb the Power Within
    • The Will is strong enough, it does not need strengthening, but the mind needs to be trained to receive and act upon the suggestions of the Will
    • The Will is the outward manifestation of the I Am
  • Every man has, potentially, a strong Will, and that all he has to do is to train his mind to make use of it. I think that in the higher regions of the mind of every man is a great store of Will Power awaiting his use
  • He who has developed his mind so that it will allow the Will Power to manifest through it, has opened up the wonderful possibilities for himself
    • Not only has he found a great power at his command, but he is able to bring into play, and use, faculties, talents, and abilities of whose existence he has not dreamed
    • This secret of the Will is the magic key which opens all doors

Aligning with the Higher Self

  • He who understands the laws of his mental being, develops his latent powers and uses them intelligently
    • He does not despise his Passive mental functions, but makes good use of them also, charges them with the duties for which they are best fitted, and is able to obtain wonderful results from their work, having mastered them and trained them to do the bidding of the Higher Self
  • He knows that the real man within him is the master to whom both Active and Passive functions are but tools. He has banished Fear, and enjoys Freedom. He has found himself. He has learned the secret of the I Am
  • Exercise
    • Fix the mind firmly on the higher Self and draw inspiration from it when I feel led to yield to the promptings of the lower part of my nature. When I am tempted to burst into anger, assert the "I," and my voice will drop
    • When I feel vexed and cross, remember what I am, and rise above my feeling. When I feel fearful, remember that the Real Self fears nothing, and assert courage
    • When I feel jealousy inciting, think of my higher nature, and laugh. And so on, asserting the Real Self and not allowing the things on the lower plane of mentality to disturb me. Do not allow these things to master me, they should be my subjects, not my masters
    • I must get away from this plane, and the only way to do so is to cut loose from these phases of thought which have been "running things" to suit themselves. I may have trouble at the start, but keep at it and I will have that satisfaction which comes only from conquering the lower parts of my nature. I have been a slave long enough, now is the time to free myself. If I will follow these exercises faithfully, I will be a different being by the end of the year. But it takes work. This is not child's play but a task for earnest men and women

You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Andrew Bouras
All posts