[62] How to Persist in my Assumption

Neville Goddard

https://youtu.be/EWpkWvBlwns

How to remain persistent internally in my inner world, subconsciously on the assumption that one day my definite chief aim will be realized. It is done from a place of real power which is the world within. Thoughts, emotions, behaviors, and outer world circumstances flow to the person that is in alignment with the assumption or the ideal outcome

Imagination and Impression

  • Man is only limited by weakness of attention and poverty of imagination. The great secret is a controlled imagination and a well sustained attention, firmly and repeatedly focused on the object to the accomplished
  • I say imagination creates reality, and if this premise is true, then imagination fulfills itself in what my life becomes
  • With my eyes closed and my physical body immobilized, induce a state akin to sleep and enter into the action as though I were an actor playing the part
    • Experience in imagination what I would experience in the flesh were I now in possession of my objective. Make elsewhere here and then now
    • And the greater I, using a larger focus will use all means, and call them good, which tend toward the production of that which I have assumed
  • Exercise
    • Close my eyes and breathe deeply as I release thoughts
    • Visualize that I am stepping into my scene. Look to the right, what do I see? Take my time to really visualize what I see. This should take a minute or two. Allow myself to see the colors, shapes, and notice the details
    • Now, look to the left, what do I see? Repeat above
    • Once I have viewed each side, repeat again while filling in more details

Mental Diets

  • If one could only control these inner conversations morning, noon, and night, and carry them right into the dream world, he would know what world he is creating
    • Stop for one moment and ask myself, what am I thinking now? I am carrying on a little tiny inner speech at every moment of time
  • The whole this is before me. I can choose death if I want it, because the Word is on my tongue, it is in my mouth, it is in my heart. And I can do it now
    • I don't have to ask who will go up to Heaven and bring it down for me, or go into the depths and bring it up for me
    • It is now nearer than I know; in my mouth and in my heart, that I can do it now. Well what would I do now? What sentence would imply that I am now what I would like to be?
  • My thought is speech; it must be actually invested, not wasted. And my money. Everything must be invested, and not wasted

The world as "me pushed out"

  • But when I catch myself going back to the old record, just put on the new record again, and the new one will become just as easy to play and as natural to play as the old one is now
  • The whole manifested world goes to show us what use I have of creation's gift. Receiving a gift does not mean that I am going to use it wisely, but I have the gift. Everyone has the gift; and the world simply reflects the use of that gift
    • So I ask myself to really apply it. Don't think for one second that knowing what to do is going to do anything for me. It's the doing it that matters
    • So, if every moment of time I know what to do, then do it. If I find myself carrying on any negative conversation, break it, even though it gives me pleasure, as it does many people; they find such fun in being critical
  • So, today if I am not satisfied with the world in which I live, blame no one, but turn within to these two gifts and use them wisely, for here I am told to order my life according to my conversations
  • So what am I saying at every moment of time? Watch it; be careful what I am saying, because my whole vast world is this inner conversation "pushed out." And I can change it only by changing the conversation, because the conversation is equated with my nature

Revision of the Past

  • Men believe in the reality of the external world because they do not know how to focus and condense their powers to penetrate its thin crust. Strangely enough, it is not difficult to penetrate this view of the senses
    • To remove the veil of the senses, I do not employ great effort; the objective world vanishes as I turn my attention from it
    • I have only to concentrate on the state desired to mentally see it; but to give reality to it so that it will become an objective fact, I must focus my attention upon the desired state until it has all the sensory vividness and feeling of reality
  • It seems that it's real, that I actually did experience it and I have found from experience that these revised days, if really lived, will change my tomorrows
    • When I meet people tomorrow, that day disappointed me, they will not tomorrow, for in me I have changed the very nature of that being, and having changed him, he bears witness tomorrow of the change that took place within me

You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Andrew Bouras
All posts