[67] Discovering and Living the "True Self"

The All in One

https://youtu.be/3bgI-03IMXc

The journey of life is one of discovering who I really am and living who I really am through my creative expression, service to others, and desires fulfilled. Who I am meant to be and how I am meant to live is found within via intuition through a connect that I call the "higher self," or visions, aspirations, and innate desires to express in certain ways which bring me more into connection with what I call the "true self."

Revealing the true self (Heart and mind relationship)

  • James Allen
    • The secret of life, of abundant life, with its strength, its felicity, and its unbroken peace is to find the Divine Center within oneself, and to live in and from that, instead of in that outer circumference of disturbances - the clamors, cravings, and argumentations which make up the animal and intellectual man. These selfish elements constitute the mere husks of life, and must be thrown away by him who would penetrate to the Central Heart of things - to Life itself
    • Not to know that within me that is changeless, and defiant of time and death, is not to know anything, but is to play vainly with the unsubstantial reflections in the Mirror of Time. Not to find within me those passionless Principles which are not moved by the strife's and shows and vanities of the world, is to find nothing but illusions which vanish as they are grasped
    • He who resolves that he will not rest satisfied with appearances, shadows, illusions shall, by the piercing light of that resolve, disperse every fleeting phantasy, and shall enter into the substance and reality of life. He shall learn how to live, and he shall live. He shall be the slave of no passion, the servant of no opinion, the votary of no fond error. Finding the Divine Center within my own heart, I will be pure and calm and strong and wise, and will ceaselessly radiate the Heavenly Life in which I live, which is myself
  • True self expressed
    • People
    • Environment
    • Circumstance
    • Information
  • The self confidence formula by Napoleon Hill
    • I know that I have the ability to achieve the object of my definite purpose in life, therefore, I demand of myself persistent, continuous action toward its attainment, and I here and now promise to render such action
    • The dominating thoughts of my mind will eventually reproduce themselves in outward physical action and gradually transform themselves into physical reality. Therefore, I will concentrate my thoughts for 30 minutes daily upon the task of thinking of the person that I intend to become. Thereby creating in my mind a clear mental picture
    • I know through the theory of autosuggestion, any desire that I persistently hold in my mind will eventually seek some expression through some practical means of obtaining the object or position I desire
    • I have clearly written down a description of my definite chief aim and I will never stop trying until I develop sufficient self-confidence for it's attainment
    • I realize that no wealth or position can long endure unless built upon truth and justice. I will engage in no transaction that will not benefit all whom it effects. I will succeed by attracting to myself the forces that I wish to sue and the cooperation of other people. I will induce others to serve me because of my willingness to serve them. I will eliminate hatred, envy, jealousy, selfishness, and cynicism by developing love for all humanity for I now that a negative attitude toward others will never bring me success. I will cause others to believe in me because I will believe in them and in myself
    • I will sign my name to this formula, commit it to memory, and repeat it aloud once a day in full faith that it will gradually influence my thoughts and actions so I will become a self reliant and successful person

The true self, found in the divine center

  • James Allen
    • Man evolves outward to the periphery of complexity, and then involves backward to the Central Simplicity. When a man discovers that it is mathematically impossible for him to know the universe before knowing himself, he then starts upon the Way which leads to the Original Simplicity. He begins to unfold from within, and as he Unfolds himself, he enfolds the universe
  • How to bring myself to the divine center via accurate thinking (Power vs Force)
    • Inspired
    • Intentional
    • Intuitive
    • Inventive
    • Involved
    • Long-term
    • Observant
    • Open
    • Orderly
    • Principled
    • Purposeful
    • Responsible
    • Spontaneous
    • Unifying

Love, peace, harmony, and ease is experienced through autotelic being (Active meditation)

  • James Allen
    • The man who says in his heart, "I will teach all men, and learn from none," will neither teach nor learn whilst he is in that frame of mind, but will remain in his folly
  • 3 ways to maintain my state of active meditation
    • Regardless of what happens, center into the now and act as calmly and as intelligently as possible
    • Be less critical and a little more tolerant of other people, their faults, failings, and mistakes
    • Realize that I am already the person that I want to be, live from this perspective

You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Andrew Bouras
All posts