[77] Self-Image from Imagination to Embodiment

Joseph Rodrigues, Maxwell Maltz

https://youtu.be/GzpkcXqsbSk

Premise

  • Maxwell Maltz
    • A human being always acts and feels and performs in accordance with what he imagines to be true about himself and his environment
    • For imagination sets the goal "picture" which our automatic mechanism work on

Persistent and Consistent

  • Maxwell Maltz
    • Skill in any performance whether it be in sports in playing the piano in conversation or in selling merchandise consists not in painfully and consciously thinking out each action as it is performed but in relaxing and letting the job do itself through me
    • Creative performance is spontaneous and "natural" as opposed to self-conscious and studied
  • My conscious mind and subconscious mind
    • Conscious -My conscious mind is the "watchman at the gate." Its chief function is to protect my subconscious mind from false impressions
    • Subconscious
    • Whatever my conscious mind assumes or believes to be true, my subconscious mind will accept and bring to pass. Believe in good fortune, divine guidance, right action
    • The infinite intelligence within my subconscious mind can reveal to me everything I need to know at every moment of time and point of space provided I am open-minded and receptive
  • Momentum
    • Objects in motion tend to stay in motion
    • Building momentum
    • Think thoughts that are positively related to my goals
    • Put behaviors in place that emphasize the related thoughts
    • Setup routines to allow creative thinking
    • Remain consistent till it becomes a way of life
  • Ways to develop the conscious mind
    • James Allen
    • That which is done now remains; that which is to be done tomorrow does not appear. It is wisdom to leave that which has not arrived, and to attend to that which is; and to attend to it with such a consecration of soul and concentration of effort as shall leave no possible loophole for regret to creep in
    • Be positively engaged with what I do
    • Be less critical and a little more tolerant of other people
    • Live the ideal self-image
    • Mindfully respond as intelligently as possible

You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Andrew Bouras
All posts