AD21//Day 12 out of 25

"Head to the gorge between the two flags guarding the altar of Hlasei. Give some of the lemons as tribute and the rest, spread to the village."

"What if a big bad wolf comes to get me?"

"Hlasei will protect you. You're all grown up now, you can do it without me, right?"

"I'll do my best!"

-- or so I thought. I've been doing this task every year but never once did my mother tell me the way to the village. I've encountered a bunch of wolves, maybe even bears at this point. Bringing lemons to the village used to be her job, and she is still getting paid for the work that I do. I wouldn't dare complain, as this is the only justifiable reason I have to enter that village under the blessing of Hlasei, and meet her.

go to the left path
The altar is to the right.

go to the right path.
*flicker 02

go down
*flicker 03

go up
Why backtrack? I didn't drop anything.

go northwest
The altar is to the east.

go northeast
The altar is to the east.

go down
Why backtrack? I didn't drop anything.

go east
*flicker 04

go west
Why backtrack? I didn't drop anything.

touch left flag
It represents the coat of arms of the previous dynasty.
It's kinda cool.

touch right flag
It represents the coat of arms of the previous dynasty.
It's kinda cool.

go east
*flicker 05

. . .

The river is dry, as usual. The altar is up ahead.

touch altar
I need to go give the offering first.

put basket in altar
How many should I put this time? Let's go with four, just to be safe.
Hlasei, undying of health and harems, sacrificial one, please don't let any wild animals gnaw me to death before I leave your territory. May these fruits appease you, and please save me from the other undyings.

Good enough.

touch altar (2)
I hope it sounded genuine.

walk forward
*flicker 05

Ah, Tenebris--a bunch of hermits afraid of the city and its laws. No one here would be foolish enough to go outside unless desperate.
After all these years, nothing seems to change. Be it stagnant or frozen in time, this town would still be someone's cottagecore fever dream.
Let's see...the trader's post, the seamstress, the restaurant, the shrine and the foragers.
And I'll have to keep at least one for her too.
Let's get this over with.

tenebrisa
tenebris
b
tenebrisc
tenebris
d

<>

  • tenebris_a -

touch caravan sign
It looks so empty.

touch caravan horse
I thought this one was already sold off to the horse breeders.
Apparently, it's still here. Did they buy it back from them?

touch girl a/girl b
"Did you hear? Someone's going to shoot a movie in that forest."
"Really? That's scary! What if they take us in as extras? My husband's currently hunting right now. What if they scout him and make him an actor?"
"That's unlikely to happen, but I fear that too! Let's go pray to Hlasei that such would never happen!"
"True that, I wouldn't want to see those city folk come here profiting off from our lands."
"Ssh, ssh, look it's the lemon girl. I think she's eavesdropping on us!"
"Let her, let her, she's a trustworthy one. Do you know that her family worships a male undying?"
"Oh really? Then..."
Better get away.

touch house door
This is the town's school. Usually there are only ten to twenty students there in overall.

talk to caravan man
"Mr. Trader, here are your lemons."
"Ah, Freedom. I forgot you were supposed to be coming today. Here's the payment."
"Thanks."

-How's the trade post these days?
"We've been doing good ever since that new farmer decided to ship his goods to the other towns. He helped out everyone with the business side, too. That means I have more work to do than ever though, so, sigh. Freedom, we got an open spot here in the Trader's Post. Maybe you or your mother would like to come? I'd really like some help right now. We're doing good, but we could really use an extra pair of hands."

-You seem down, Mr. Trader.
"I've just been busy lately. I never expected that guy's work to be good, none of us did. We've been thriving, but I need some rest myself. I got to ride another week to deliver the clothes, the crops, and everything else. I just got back from a trip last night, and I'll have to go again tonight. Seems like I'll be eating your lemons on the way, Freedom."

-Have you seen Morgana?
"Ah, her, Asheva's second daughter? No, didn't see her. I'll let you know if I did."

-See you again next year.
"You too, kiddo. My offer still stands whenever, though. Come see me if you decide you want to be a trader."

talk to seamstress
"Mrs. He..."
"Oh, you must be the lemon girl they were talking about. Were you looking for the senior?"
"Yes, and you are?"
"Denzel, her apprentice. Let me take that for you."
"Here you go."

-Why isn't Mrs. Heyer here?
"Today is a rest day of sorts. There has been a lot of demand for our work lately. The other people in town told me that you only come here once a year. I became her apprentice a few months ago. I'll tell her you came by later."

-What are these things?
"Oh, those are scarves. I made them myself, though the real credit really goes to the senior. Would you like one?"
"Hm, do you have one that's blue?"
"No, not yet. I can make you one if you like. You can just pay and pick it up later."
"I'd like that, yes."

-Have you seen Morgana?
"Not today, no. Perhaps she's still at home?"

  • See you next year. "Sure, and thanks again for the lemons. I won't forget your face."

<>

  • tenebris_b -

check left house
I remember this house. This used to be red.

check right house
It's only been a year but to think this place now has a blacksmith's shop. Time passes like the wind.

check kid a
"Hey, lady! Give me your lemons!"

check stall
This place has just been left unattended. If this was a city, everything would've been stolen right now. I guess this is one of the advantages of knowing everyone in this town, hm?

check cat
Cute cute cute.

talk to restaurant owner
"Mr. Lucio! I came with the lemons!"
"Ah, Freedom! Finally. Welcome back to the Tenebris. Why don't you just stay here forever?"
"I can't do that Mr. Lucio."
"Then why don't you stay here until my wife can make a pie out of these, hm?"
"No thank, Mr. Lucio. I got other stuff to do."
"What a shame."

-How's the restaurant?
"Quite good, quite good. Have you heard of the new farmer that just came? It's been a really good thing for us since he did. What's better, he did not even try to convert us to do as the city does. He's really smart, and we've been using his produce since! You sure you don't want to eat a while before leaving?"
"No thanks, Mr. Lucio."

-How are you?
"Thanks for asking! I've been good. My daughter's already old enough for an apprenticeship, and my darling's pets just gave birth to four kittens a week ago. Life's going great, Freedom. Oh, are you interested in taking care of cats yourself?"
"I prefer dogs."

-Have you seen Morgana?
"Morgana? She ate here for breakfast, as usual, but that's all I know."

-See you again next year."
"You too, Freedom!"


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from 86
All posts