#10 I'm back after a short break

The one piece of advice from Ship30 that still rolls around in my mind today is "never miss a second day". Sure sometimes you'll miss a day, but then you can catch it up tomorrow!

I wonder if anyone who believes that has ever gone for an overnight hike in the mountains with food poisoning and come back to a Sunday night fever and visit to the doctor for a drip for dehydration. My guess is not. Things like this tend to get in the way of trying to build in any consistency.

I did think I had published something last Thursday though... whoopsie. That's on me.

While the food poisoning was a surprise, I did know that I was going to be away for three days without reception and I wondered what I should do about keeping the streak. I thought about trying to write something each day and then I could publish a few all at once on Sunday. But really? For what reason would I want to do that to myself?

I was on hike with a group of friends and we were either having fun laughing in conversation together. Walking strenuously up a mountain in an incredibly pretty landscape. Or I was trying to take a moment to myself when the last thing I wanted to do was write. I just wanted to be.

Catching up 2 or 3 missing days might have come with a bit of satisfaction that I could move towards 100 days quicker, but really that kind of strain is unsustainable for me - and 100 day challenges are a way of finding sustainable ways of doing things. That's the appeal!

So rather, I'm going to lean into my human design as a projector, and accept that consistency is not my jam. My energy ebbs and flows, and I can play with that and allow it. But I can try for constancy. There will be days I miss, I won't get a perfect streak, but I will show-up 90 more times here so I can say that I did it.

Now... to find a way of moving back to writing about ideas I want to share, rather than just journalling my feelings.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Cleo
All posts