Twenty-Six: Pieces + Doubt

Planted: Thursday November 18, 2021
Last Tended: Thursday November 18, 2021

I have my writing everywhere. I will stumble on an old notebook and find something fire that I wrote. I will find a file in my Standard Notes or Onenote and it will be fire. Setting up a system is important, but even more importantly, I need to piece all my writing together.

For this social impact author cohort, I need to share a sample up to 10 pages of what my book will look like. I wanted to write something from scratch[1], but then I found something I wrote in a notebook a few years ago and I realized that I didn't have to write something new. I'm going to spend the last two hours of today writing up a short sample. I am going to write the author's note/preface to Collectively Upward.

I am a bit nervous about applying to this cohort. Me applying signals to myself, that I actually want to be a writer. I want to tell stories and share them widely. But a part of me wonders: what if I don't get in?

I almost wasn't going to submit my application. I do that a lot. Last minute, I will abandon an application. But I always end up submitting it. Sometimes I get in and other times I don't, but I am always happy that I faced my fears and applied.

No matter what happens, I will continue to write this collection of essays, but it would be great if it was in the cohort.

The deadline is on the 20th and tomorrow, I will spend time revising my application responses and then submit. Cheers to facing fears.

[Links]
[1] https://listed.to/@LisaMariePhD/29558/nineteen-editing-blocks


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Lisa-Marie
All posts