Something Like A Storm Chapter 3

Stop!
I didn't know where the voice came from but it crashed through my thoughts, shattering everything else.

Don't listen to them. You are not weak!

I wanted to ignore it argue with it tell it all the ways it was wrong but I couldn't.

I didn't want to continue my destructive cycle. I not only wanted but longed for something else. Some peace and quiet. But that can't happen I can't break free.

I shut all my thoughts out. I didn't want to dwell on it any longer.

"Hey, I am tired from working. We can still talk if you want?"

"Yeah sure" I could hear her beaming through the phone. I felt a little better from not shutting down and isolating. Maybe this is what normal people do.

The sun blazed underneath me. Starting again was hard. I dug into the dirt yanking out the weed. Salty sweat dripped down my arms into the wee, rewarding their death with a bitter drink. Taking my time, I removed the dirt from the potted plant. With exposed roots the flower looks so worthless. I quickly covered with dirt, hoping it would grow quickly.

Drinking a glass of water, dad laughed at the fact I was still in the garden. "Isabella, it is six o'clock on a Saturday, I think you have done enough."

Yesterday after I had talked to Freia, I didn't want to remain in my head entertaining those thoughts. It had worked but I couldn't help but feel that I should be confronting it instead. I feared it would come back to bite me.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Sapphire
All posts