Cooking Update!

So far, I have sustained two cuts. They are both on my left hand. They are both a result of being lazy and not using a cutting board. I have obviously not learned my lesson because there are now two cuts, and not just one. I was even cutting the same vegetable on two different occasions. To be fair, the second cut was much less substantial than the first because I was trying to be more careful about not cutting myself, but not careful enough to use a cutting board apparently. I still will not use a cutting board. It's too much of a hassle.

Well, I think I should explain the reason why I don't want to use a cutting board. When I prepare bok choy, or Shanghai greens, I was taught to remove part of the stem before washing the vegetable. My dad, who is the cook in the house, does this without a cutting board. If I use a cutting board to do so, I can just hear him telling me that because I put unwashed vegetables on the board, the cutting board is now dirty and needs to be washed before placing clean vegetables on it. It's just not worth, having to wash the cutting board after using them to make one cut.

Anyways, the cuts have healed more or less. New skin has formed and you can still kind of see it, but it's no longer a nuisance (because my first cut, which was rather notable in size, was on my thumb, making it difficult to do things with my left hand in general).

How has my cooking been so far? Well, I think it's going fairly well. I've definitely had a lot of my meals from a club or some other activity rather than by my own hand. Outside of that, I think I pay for 2 or 3 meals by eating out or delivery, though I'm not a big fan of delivery because of the amount of tip that I have to pay.

I like to keep a constant supply of rice in my pressure/rice cooker. Since it's a pressure cooker I assume that it has some type of sealing capability, so I've just been leaving my rice in there. I've been making vegetable soup and putting in fish balls that I get from Hmart for my source of protein. Most of the time I get lazy and put my rice in as well, though I don't think it's been very good for my sanity to eat the same-ish kinds of food for many of my meals. Lately I've been feeling a little sick of the food that I've been eating in general. Nothing sounds good. It's whatever, though, I eat because I get hungry. I think it might be a result of eating too much or too little of something.

I made a rice cooker meal. It was fine, but it was just a little much. It makes me feel kind of nauseous thinking about it. Only slightly. It was rice with some sausage and vegetables, topped with a good amount of soy sauce and other seasoning. I think it was because I put in too much soy sauce. It was a fine meal, but I don't think I would make that again. It took a good amount of time to dice all the ingredients, and at that point, why not just make an actual meal? I think this might be really my fault for not being able to cut and dice fast. I suppose my process isn't that streamlined.

I spend approximately an hour to cook each time that I do. Most of the time, I try to make more than one portion of food. At the moment, I believe I have enough food to last me at least two or three days? I made (bad) tomato fried egg, fried rice, a good amount of vegetable soup, rice cooker meal, and some pan-fried anchovies and precut and prebattered fish from Hmart (it was also very yummy). That's about it.

For breakfast I have grapes, blueberries, granola, and cornflakes topped with Greek yoghurt. I'm in the process of moving away from that, because it's starting to get old. I guess it has been three (?) weeks of eating that every morning. Something about the consistency of Greek yoghurt and the flavor of granola doesn't sit right with me. It's still an important meal, though. It's the only time I get to eat fruits and the fiber and whatever in granola and cornflakes is important for my digestive health, along with the protein or whatever in the yoghurt, I suppose.

I haven't gotten around to buying ready-make meals. I really would like to get a lot of ramen, and I think I will do that next weekend, but for now I'm fine. I've been told that this will change with time, so I can't wait for that! My food and sleep schedule has already been undergoing some changes in the last week. I'm still figuring out all of that, but since this is a cooking update, it might be a good idea to log down what I've decided to do.

I realize that I can skip breakfast and be fine. If I eat breakfast, I get hungry at like 10 or 11 for lunch. If I don't eat breakfast, I get hungrier earlier, but it doesn't really matter because I usually get hungry so early anyways. I have classes that end at 12:00 or 12:30, so after cooking lunch, that means that I end up eating lunch at 2 a lot of the time. Then, I have dinner sometime at 6 or 7, but I also have dinner a lot of time from a club, so the time I eat is very variable. I usually stay up quite late, so I think it might be a good idea to have another meal, or small meal, at about midnight? It might be a good idea to move my breakfast to then, because I don't want to be cooking up a storm at 12.

Anyways, my habits are interesting and I will keep close tabs on what I do for the rest of the semester. They say college is a time of self discovery, but I really did not expect to discover myself in terms of food and sleep. I will post an update on that after I discover a little bit more about myself.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Angeline
All posts