Some thoughts pt. 2

I started writing these a really long time ago, and I was scrolling through my old drafts and I thought this one is one of the easier ones to polish up and publish.

I see so many people on campus ride bicycles without their hands. They aren't going that fast either. And they can also turn?? I can barely take turns without falling over. Well, being on the weird BlueBikes is definitely not helpful. I think part of it does have something to do with the bikes they have. Honestly, I think it's just a flex when these people ride without their hands. I mean, most of the time they're not doing anything with their hands anyways. Well, there was this one time when I saw someone texting with both hands while riding. I guess that's an even bigger of a flex. That was a digression. My point is that there is a non-negligible amount of people I've seen riding bikes without touching the handlebars.

Recently, there have been times when someone, who knows nothing about a specific situation that I'm in, will say something super insightful about my situation. The context that they're saying it in is a hundred percent as a joke, since they aren't aware of the particular problem that their wisdom-framed-as-a-joke applies to. I'm not explaining this well. It's like how there are comedic relief characters in Shakespeare who have no idea what's going on, but they sometimes offer nuggets of insight to the story. Not that I'm saying that I view some of my friends as just comic relief characters, which I don't. It's just that they don't know what's going on in my life personally. Anyways it's crazy to me that these kinds of coincidences happen in real life. It feels like I'm in an orchestrated play or something, but I know it's probably just my brain picking up on more connections, etc. I mean, that's what I feel about deja vu.

I spend 13.5 hours in class every week. I average about 40 hours on Notability, minus the time that I spend on Notability for MITWE, because I have my sheet music on there. If I take notes for a class, I do it on paper, with the exception of 21M.011 lecture, which is 1.5 hours long. This means that 3/4 of the time that I spend on a class is time outside of instruction time. That's kind of crazy. Given, I'm not working for 100% of the time that I'm on Notability, but it must be somewhere along the lines of 90%, right?

Mathematics is so funny. I spend an hour working on a problem, and the solution I end up writing is like a paragraph or two long. Like yes, it took me an hour to come up with this paragraph. Is this what being a creative writer's like?

I feel like I don't actually understand a lot of the things that I learn. I feel like I flounder around, flapping my arms and legs around in the water, just enough for me not to drown, and the people around me look at that and say, "you can swim." On the flip side, I sometimes feel like I understand something, only to find out that I had a very naive understanding of what's going on. It doesn't feel like I'm supposed to be doing math with my kind of brain.

I saw an Instagram reel the other day that had the text "you ever like a character so much you start stealing their personality and make every single online profile of yours based on them and you start subconsciously speaking like them." Yeah, I have never felt more targeted in my life. My Discord profile photo is Seele, and there was a period of time where my Instagram pfp was Seele too, then I got a really aesthetic picture of myself against the sunset, and it's that. I love Seele so much. She's kind and caring and hardworking and really cute and sweet and I love her so much. However, I have not attempted to speak like her, because that's a bit too far. That's not even the main point. The important part is that the background image of this reel was Elysia. In the days before I saw this reel, I was thinking to myself about how great Elysia is, and how her love for all of humanity is something that I strive for. I was literally thinking of acting and adopting Elysia's personality, and bam there she is in my reels, smiling at me in her wedding-dress-like battlesuit, smelling flowers. Not cool, Instagram.

My friend posted a reel on her Instagram story of Chung Thanh Phung's dresses, and I finally understand that fashion is an art form. They're impractical, don't get me wrong, and I would never wear something like that. But they're beautiful. The way that the frills, or the pieces, or whatever it's made out of, bounces as the models do their catwalk is absolutely captivating. Incorporating movement into clothing is a brilliant idea, because after all, clothing should be designed with movement in mind. Yes, this is what fashion should be. Bravo.

I think Friend A is cracked. Friend A thinks Friend B is cracked. Friend B thinks I'm cracked. (We all think each other are cracked, it just happened that I heard these statements being said in the span of two days and I thought it made a cool triangle).


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Angeline
All posts