I get motion sick easily

That too familiar, too dreaded clench in my chest,
a disgusting taste of dry acid in my esophagus,
I want to spit it out, heave it out,
but nothing comes out except stale air.

It's all in my head. Remember, it's not real,
your mind is just confused, tricking you,
it doesn't know you're moving when you're not moving,
or was it the other way around?
I forgot. I forget easily. I get lost easy,
lost in the silly feelings I make worse myself.

Breathe (in).
Don't stop (out) breathing (in).

When you (out) stop breathing (in),
you can (out) feel the sickness (in),
if you stop (out) breathing (in),
these feelings (in) will devour you (out).

"Are you okay?"
"Huh? Oh, I'm just motion sick."
"Do you need to vomit? We'll be in there in like half an hour."
"I can make it, don't worry."
"Try focusing on your breath and look outside. It'll ground you."
"Yeah, that's what I've been doing. I guess I shouldn't have been looking at my phone earlier, huh?"

i barely manage to huff out
the last few words while the air
in my lungs involute onto themselves
like smoke blossoming and curling
i can't hear your words anymore
stop talking it's making it worse
stop thinking it's making it worse
i need to breathe i need to
stop breathing it's making it worse
there is not enough oxygen in this car
for thirty long minutes

Can you breathe for thirty long minutes?


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Angeline
All posts