Absolutely Nothing

383

Sometimes, it's good to do absolutely nothing.

I'm one of those people that can easily fill up all of their time with stuff. Got some spare time? I'll grab a book, listen to a podcast, talk to a friend, go for a walk, or, less often, clean up my surroundings. Most of these things are good, and I should be doing them. But they stop being so valuable when they start filling out every single living minute of one's life.

I did not do any of these things today. In fact, I did absolutely nothing.

But all that not-doing-anything, incredibly unproductive time, that made me feel bad at first:

It's a Saturday, so you should be spending time with your family, not laying on the ground doing nothing you dumbass.

finally gave me space to listen to myself. I've had a chance to reconsider things I already made up my mind on. A chance to see things I could not see running from place to place. Creation comes out of boredom.

In the end, the day left me with a little insight. I am going to work on it immediately, as it is something I've ignored for too long.

I had already discovered that insight some time ago. But hey, life is circular. Doing nothing is the balance to doing everything.

More from In Search For Balance
All posts