Slow Observer

569

I aspire to be a slow observer. Here's what I mean by that:

  1. Slow means slow. Whatever happens, whatever comes, I don't let it arrive straight. I am prone to judging a book by its cover, so I need to take time. Delay intentionally. If I'd be letting everything come right at me, there'd be none of me left.
  2. Observer means observer. I am the photojournalist documenting an armed conflict. I shouldn't be shooting; I suck at aiming and would be afraid to pull the trigger.
  3. I have to be sensitive. Trying to understand anyone's whole picture. Their entire world. Their hopes, doubts, fears. Not just what they seek, but also what they run from. Sensitive doesn't imply cautious. But sensitive implies careful, full of care.

That's who I am.

Someone may want to arm me someday.

Gotta be ready tell them what's up.

More from In Search For Balance
All posts