boundaries

Boundaries. I get frustrated that people cross boundaries. But people will always cross boundaries. It is out of our control. The only thing we can control is how we respond to our crossed boundaries. Do we uphold them? Firmly and respectfully? Or do we get steam rolled? The problem I find with boundaries being crossed is that while I want to be annoyed at the person who crossed them, I am actually annoyed at myself. It was my job to uphold the boundary. It was not their task. In a perfect world people would not cross boundaries. But the reality is that a good portion of the time, people do not even know they are crossing your boundary. It is like expecting people not to cross an invisible fishing line that you hung up arbitrarily. We want to think that people can read our minds and that some things everyone can agree on as a boundary but it is just not the case. People will always come up with exceptions and 'just this one time' situations. Long story short, I am working to not be annoyed with the other person and to show myself grace as well. I will not be perfect at upholding boundaries. But each day is a new day. Everyone is doing their best.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from be like water
All posts